I Resign

in #poetry6 years ago

image
image source
I hereby officially tendering my resignation as an adult.

I have decided I would like to accept the responsibilities
of an 8-year-old again.

I want to go to Mr Biggs and think that it’s a five star restaurant.
I want to sail sticks across a fresh mud puddle and
make ripples with rocks.
I want to think M&Ms are better than money because
you can eat them.

I want to lie under a big mango tree and run a food
stand with my friends on a hot summer day.
I want to return to a time when life was simple.
When all i knew were colors, multiplication tables,
and nursery rhymes,
But that didn’t bother me, because i didn’t know and i didn’t care.

All I knew was to be happy because I was blissfully unaware of all the things that should
make me worried or upset.

I want to think the world is fair.
That everyone is honest and good.
I want to believe that anything is possible.
I want to be oblivious to the complexities of life and
be overly excited by the little things again.

I want to live simple again.
I don’t want my day to consist of computer crashes, mountains of paperwork, depressing news,
how to survive more days in the month than there is
money in the bank, doctor bills, gossip,
illness, and loss of loved ones.

I want to believe in the power of smiles, hugs, a kind
word, truth, justice, peace, dreams,
the imagination, mankind, and building castles
in the sand

So…here’s my house keys and my car keys, my visa
cards and all my responsibility.
I am officially resigning from adulthood.

Sort:  

😂😂😂😂 Those days don pass o. U better wake up and face reality. You are an adult and there is no going back. Face your responsibilities. Do u have kids yet??

😂😂😂😂😂😂😂😂...... but i just resigned from adulthood.
NO!!! i don't have kids yet.

Hello! I find your post valuable for the wafrica community! Thanks for the great post! @wafrica is now following you! ALWAYs follow @wafrica and use the wafrica tag!

Lwkmd😂😂..
Few years agi, u wanted to grow up so dah mummy wee stop giving you offering in front of your crush, as per big geh na.. Wantes to start fixing hair and nails and stop wearing uniform..
Ntóó..😝

😪😪😪😓😓 I don't want to be an adult again

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by jblsignature from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Congratulations @jblsignature! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of posts published

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard!


Participate in the SteemitBoard World Cup Contest!
Collect World Cup badges and win free SBD
Support the Gold Sponsors of the contest: @good-karma and @lukestokes


Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Humans are complex nets of contradictory instincts, arent they? Whole psychoanalisis is built on that premise. And though, we all are, at least in theory proud adults, many of us would prefer being rather happy children. Obviously, upvoting.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 61769.55
ETH 2910.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.64