Her letter: The Invisible Monster

in #poetry6 years ago

Image Source

"I lie down under the cotton sheets on my bed, staring at the glowing stars 'stickered' on the once-blank ceiling.. Flashback to when I was just a little innocent 4-year old, I have always feared the dark, and the monster that is living in the closet with it. They have always told me that.. that creature in the back of my hanged clothes - is a hideous one, they said that it would have no mercy, it would be completely nothing for them to eat a kid like me.. since, you know, that's what they live for, we are what they need to catch a breath. I was then too fearful of what might happen especially when I sleep with the lights off up until now, Save electricity they said..

That was probably the whole reason why I have these bright green stars on my cream-colored ceiling. With the fact that I love the moon, and mostly the stars.. the thought of it helps me sleep at night because it brightens up the dark world a bit.

Going forward to the present, I'm no longer that child, it's been 12 years.. I don't fear the "Closet Monster" anymore.. my fright.. is much scarier than that..

I have crossed ways with an invisible monster, a monster which manipulates the chemicals in my brain.. almost filling up my insides with every negativity in each side. It was everything compared to that creature in my closet.... it didn't even live in my room.. It is inside of me, it resides in my body -- slowly slowing down my whole soul.. it felt like it was a parasite unknown.

Since the day I got to recognize it, I have become less appreciative of the bright stars and the only white moon.. I forgot how those put peace in all the war in my head. I felt that it is the cause of how the darkness surrounds my world..

It is the most horrifying monster my parents never told me about.. the invisible, yet the worst killer..

It is the monster that I never know when I'll defeat..

It is the monster that I fight but end up losing even though when I do my best to win..

Please, get rid of it..

images.png

Thank you so much for reading the story I wrote, I hope you enjoy the whole point of it. Please be aware of DEPRESSION, it isn't always visible. A person might smile all-throughout the days.. but in the inside, they might be full of pain, and it might be too much for them to handle. It also changes a person, sometimes the irritable aren't really defined by their actions, it is the depression which is the cause for them to isolate themselves.

If you don't exactly know what depression is.. here's an article.

https://www.psychiatry.org/patients-families/depression/what-is-depression

...

Please do support these amazing steemians: @atongis, @carl28, @cutirenskei, @dianafigura, @drawingwithflare, @deveerei, @xxsenpaixxsamaxx, @surpassinggoogle, @dunkman, @el-dee-are-es, @franbel, @gingbabida, @iamsj, @islaw, @ivez, @jannie98, @jbmolano, @dwightjaden, @juwel, @joonz, @jetskie, @jysui, @el-dee-are-es, @ligaya, @lyann, @manilyn09, @maki07, @mama-imee, @phantum04, @saskia, @sepchronicles, @sisonengg, @shawmeow, @shula14, @sn0white, @iyanpol12, @coolguy123, @hr1, @bobbylee, @good-karma and @adsactly.

images.png

footer1.png

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63138.90
ETH 3290.65
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.89