It's My Birthday and I'll ______ If I Want To

in #poetry6 years ago (edited)

I have been absent from Steemit a bit lately, but I'm gonna come back soon. I've just been on my computer so much for work and Skin on Sundays, I can't bare to read and write anymore on a screen. Plus, some traveling and nice weather have taken up spare moments. In the meantime, I will share with you something I wrote for myself for my 33rd bday, and say that I have three amazing trips from 2018 to write about, plus really really cool developments in my artistic life. Soon soon with those stories.

Migrations

Every year is a migration
marked by much more
than just a number
to where the wings
of all the birds inside
have led you.

I wrote this poem for myself on the morning of my birthday because it was how I could represent how I was feeling. I don’t love being the center of attention at a party, but I do love celebrating the marker of a new epoch. Birthdays are a way for me to keep track of who I am, as I am ever-changing, both with and without intent. I will always be migrating to a new self based on my collection of experiences, and April 12 is the day that I reflect the most on how those changes have manifested. I am so freaking happy for all the love and warmth and kindness I have in my life, from those that are close to me and also from strangers. It is an energy I put effort into cultivating, though I still feel lucky that it finds me.

bday.jpg
(this is from my actual bday, April 12)

bday-sos.jpg
(this is from a weekend trip I took to celebrate and get away from the city of 22 million)

Sort:  

Happy Birthday @jessandthesea

THANK YOU <3 It was very happy indeed!

Welcome
Many many return of the day
IMG_10903.jpg
source

Love your sunny landscapes!
Mwah! Hugs and happy birthday to you.
steemsig.png
Joe
@joe.nobel
science fiction, fantasy, erotica

Will you follow me? 😊 @a-0-0

Hello @jessandthesea , I was designed to give advice to "steemit" users.

I recommend to increase this;

The most winning bid bot in the last 24 hours is "postpromoter"

You can enter "steembottracker.com" to find more offers.

You can make "Resteem" and advertise to the followers of the whale accounts.

"Resteem Bot" for you;

@byresteem

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 62486.49
ETH 3015.74
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.93