Please Bite The Apple, Eve!

in #poetry6 years ago

I posted a special episode of Skin on Sundays today. It's not special for Christmas or anything like that, but it's the first photo I took for the project that is not of myself with my new DSLR camera. In particular, especially for an amateur, I think I did a really good job capturing my canvas' essence, as well as delivering an especially captivating piece of physiopoetry. I had seen photos of a girl with fruit over her boobs, and so I decided to do my own spin, biting one of the apples. It's provocative, interesting, and the poem both fits the girl and the photo at large, which I'm proud of myself for.

Obviously, there are some biblical references there, because nude females and apples will do that, especially when the title of the piece is "Unforbidden Forest." My piece changes the traditional symbolism a bit, turning it on its head. While Eve's eating the apple, the forbidden fruit, was a symbol for the fall of mankind into sin, not being able to resist temptation and thereby triggering all that is considered negative in the world to enter, my take on this, however, is a bit different, mainly because many of the things considered to be let loose by biting the forbidden fruit are some of the things I consider to be most valuable in life. For instance, this is a good example:

Adam and Eve, once immune to bashfulness and shame from nudity, suddenly began to feel they had to cover up after biting the apple. I think it's a positive experience to put the brain and morality to the test. There actually is nothing shameful about nudity, and instead of having the emotion of shame hidden from us, we should be able to reason out that nudity isn't shameful and go back to nudity on our own accord, having all the information available to us. And I believe this is the most enlightened way to be, thus making it truly positive that the forbidden fruit was bitten.

I'm actually atheist, so I view all religion as mythology, stories told for symbolic purposes of morality. This episode of Skin on Sundays in many ways represents my take on this particular myth:

unforbidden-forest-3.0.jpg

Unforbidden Forest

A forest
appears
in your heart
from where
the apple
fell,
every apple,
every heart.


I had so many photos I had taken to choose from, so I ended up making a stop-motion video for my Instagram story today, but I put it up on YouTube as well so I could show you :)

When people talk about “the spirit of Christmas,” I think they are referring to kindness, a warm, glowing feeling. For many it is religious, and for many others it is about tradition. Regardless of what you’re celebrating or why, the spirit remains intact for so many of us, and this is unifying and beautiful. My canvas for today’s Skin on Sundays episode embodies this sentiment year round, and so it is fitting that her episode should fall on Christmas Eve.

Happy Holidays to all my fellow Steemians! For me, I love getting together with loved ones and feeling that glowy warm feeling that arrives kind of magically on these days.

Sort:  

Nice! I like your description/depth of the piece.

Happy Holidays To You!

very nice and congratulations to you today be the day is important to you.
don't forget @jessandthesea to follow back and upvote @zibonk
Hopefully we can work together in the steemit.

Happy holidays⛄

Yes great topic. I muse about original sin often.

If Adam and Eve ate the Apple and all are cursed now to be ashamed of nudity through heredity, then why don’t babies pop out of the womb clutching their private parts in embarrassment?

that's a great point. society....pffff

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 66439.14
ETH 3005.38
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.68