Longings

in #poetry6 years ago



26566_1948587w620.jpg



My library is an archive of longings
—Susan Sontag



I want to return to the dream


I’m always forced to leave.


Godforsaken,

I’m Adam

Banished from your Garden;


I walk around in daytime,

Lose myself in crowds

And grieve for your lips.


Stray drops of rain

Deepen the pain

Remind me of your tenderness.


So, that's where I am.


I want to be alone tonight

In the silence and the dark

And ponder what’s missing

In my life and my art.


My words in print

Detached from me

Free me from the burden

Of sensitivity.


But I need the desert

And the absence

Of your company

To awaken in me

The longing for your mystery.



© 2018, John J Geddes. All rights reserved



Photo



Sort:  

I love Susan Sontag, @johnjgeddes! Disease and its metaphors is almost my bedside book. In this poem the image of Adam abandoned and lost is definitive. There is a loss, a struggle to get to know each other, to know what is behind the work that is created. The writer needs a perfect state in which the outer silence is in harmony with the noises inside him. Each word he writes on a weight, a piece that falls, but that makes him more aware of its abysses. That will be the price he must pay: the world hurts him. Every word is a birth pain, a wound that does not stop bleeding. Hot night around here. hugs

so poetic, my friend - the desert experience is the isolation required to hear those noises from within - as I said in a poem I just wrote - my soul—tattered with gaps of her absence!

@johnjgeddes,

Nicely done.

I want to be alone tonight
In the silence and the dark
And ponder what’s missing
In my life and my art.

Simple, but poignant, imagery.

Quill

Thank you for knowing what imagery is and using the word poignant - small things, but this is the day of small things. I decided to follow you - it seemed appropriate :)

@johnjgeddes,

Touché. Somewhere along the line, they lowered the bar on literacy.

Quill

Your words are always spun together ,so beautifully.
John , I do not know how to Private Message on Steemit. If you could give me your mail address to [email protected] . I think I have something that would be of benefit to you?

Thanks, Alan - I just wrote you back :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.033
BTC 62772.18
ETH 3032.07
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.67