And That Is My Heart

in #poetry7 years ago (edited)



universe-1607231_1920.jpg



I want to distance
Myself from you

Retreat as far inside
As the Milky Way
Is outside

So you can only see
The dark outline
Of my soul.

You’ve seen it rain stars,
Fire dropping
From a dark sky

But have you seen my tears
Or found their circles
Upon my poems?

Do you understand
The groan of walking
Down desolate alleyways

Hearing your footsteps
Lonely and mocking
Echoing your loss?

The rain is filled
With dark matter
That pulls me away

Its undertow
Maroons me
On the Moon

But what do you know
Of my heart
Or the wilderness of nights?

I’ve watched
Your window lights
Gleam and die

Like ships
In the dark
Slip below the horizon

I’ve watched
From a pock-marked desert
Vast and arid

A wasteland
Of shipwrecked dreams
And washed–up stars…

And that is my heart.



© 2017, John J Geddes. All rights reserved



Photo

Sort:  

What do I know of your heart?

I know it not the only one beats to the drum of pain neither is it the only one that dances to the tune of solitude and loss.....

WOW..... I am speechless with the use of words.
You should have seen me while reading this, lips opened, frowns, stares, exclamations, trying hard not to blink.

I am the goddess of love but I do not think you want in (Lol)

You are a true poet!

thank you, @mimy - and that is a very poetic response. I truly appreciate your encouragement :)

Wow your metaphors are actually outspoken, the way you used it to describe the pain made it very beautiful i love this

Im your ardent follower and a poet too, i love your art even at prose writing

This piece too of mine has this same emotions
https://steemit.com/poetry/@josediccus/when-you-smile-a-poem

Beautiful poem. such depth of feeling. The emotional pain felt deep in the heart..loved it.

thank you , @timmo3663 - appreciate it

Poetry tells alot....The sense of letting one know how you feel.Great work

Beautiful poem. Keep it up @johnjgeddes

Permeating and whetted words of the heart, I felt your pain, John.

and I was just on your blog and felt your concern for Africa that really comes down to one person at a time

I noticed, lol. Yes, one person at a time it is. 🙏

This post has received a 28.25 % upvote from @booster thanks to: @johnjgeddes.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 70999.72
ETH 3678.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.81