Another Room of the Dream

in #poetry6 years ago (edited)



smandala.jpg



Silvery icicles
On the eaves


Sunlight gilding
Snowy streets

Home to the fire
And your hair backlit

We’ve done this before
And we’ll repeat it again

Comings and goings
In other lives...

Strange places
And other times

Sometimes back
Sometimes ahead

I catch in glimmers
Things we’ve said


Tonight I’m staring
Into the flames

Catching glimpses
Of a primeval cave

The children asleep
And us by the fire

The same love and warmth
In primeval desire

I’m trying to piece out
What this all means

I'm sure I'll find out
In another room of the dream



© 2017, John J Geddes. All rights reserved



Photo



Sort:  

Hey @johnjgeddes,

How beautifully you represented the needs of human beings metaphorically in this classic poem of yours.
As i am a teacher and i would love to share it with my students with your Permission (hope so you wouldn't mind it )

There is a very famous Punjabi Poet Baaqi Saqiqui who wrote
(Translated Version)

~Everyone is running
Like the water of river
There is no aim of life
but to run run and run~

Waiting for your next post anxiously. Please keep sharing such worth reading wording with us.

Stay Blessed!

Hi @salmanbukhar54 - I'd be pleased if you taught my poem - I was a curriculum dean and English head but have been a full time writer for the past 9 yrs. I never used my writing in class and tried to disguise the fact because I thought it a conflict of interest - it would be impossible to hide now, of course, with the expansion of the internet and its use in the clsaaroom

Well @johnjgeddes thank you so much for giving me your permission to share these beautiful lines. I would definitely share it with My Boys in the class room and off course i will mention the Poet name as well.

Yes you're right conflict of interest disturbs everything. You rightly mentioned;

it would be impossible to hide now

Because ** POETRY** is prayer!

Another lovely piece John! I like the rhythm of this one quite a bit. Nice 😃

thanks, jr - I pray you and your loved ones have a peace-filled and joyous Christmas season :)

I love this piece. I am not sure if the character is in a dream or about to sleep. also, I don't know if two line poetry has a name or is your trademark. good read as always 👍

Hi @abmakko - a two-line stanza is called a couplet. It's not peculiar to me - even Shakespeare used them in his sonnets and to mark the end of scenes in his plays. The poem is about the common feeling that life is a dream and the narrator wonders if he will meet his love again in another dream life

Thanks for explaining @johnjgeddes 😊 , happy new year in advance sir.

deep and soulful and love it,

omg thats so cool <3

I'll bet you say that to everyone...as a matter of fact, you do

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.12
JST 0.030
BTC 69479.52
ETH 3691.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.26