I Have Your Heart

in #poetry6 years ago (edited)



____________christian-heart-painting-1.jpg



I have the heart
You gave me
When you were far away from me


I keep it
In a safe place
Where I can always find it

Sometimes I hold it
Just to feel
The love between us
Is tangible and real

It’s just a bit of crystal
Not worth much
To anyone else but us

But it reminds me
Of that longing
To drive for hours
To have you beside me

It’s not worth much…
But when I hold it
I feel your touch



© 2018, John J Geddes. All rights reserved



Photo



Sort:  

That is really nice to read :) The memory and the sensation held together in perfect recollection; as real and as relevant as if it were happening in this very moment... Our own private place :)

thanks, Westley, I appreciate your thoughtful response

I wonder... I wonder ever so strongly. Could it be true?

Time and distance and events... but the hearts—one wood, one stone—might they still, ever, be in her hands?

😄😇😄

@creatr

a very poetic response, my friend :)

Thanks... Most of my poetry comes from the heart... ;)

But it reminds me
Of that longing
To drive for hours
To have you beside me

Couldn’t help but smile and reminisce reading those words. Amazing how we can attach so many feelings to things of beauty when they are attached to the beautiful ones we love. I enjoyed this, John.

thank you, lydon. Yes, that is so true...

It is interesting; the things that trigger emotions and memories at times. The smallest of items can induce the most powerful feelings. Loved your sweet words of reminiscence @johngeddes

thank you, Trudee :)

It's not worth much, it's worth everything.

Beautiful. Absolutely.

Thanks, Lynne :)

You got a 0.96% upvote from @postpromoter courtesy of @johnjgeddes!

Want to promote your posts too? Check out the Steem Bot Tracker website for more info. If you would like to support the development of @postpromoter and the bot tracker please vote for @yabapmatt for witness!

i am inspire about him from your post.
thank you for your post.

This post has received a 2.19 % upvote from @booster thanks to: @johnjgeddes.

Nice poem, feel free to use my artworks for this purpose if you like!

PF 5.jpg

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60895.62
ETH 2917.92
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.58