Imperfect

in #poetry6 years ago



optic_illusion_of_an_imperfect_painting.jpg



You are perfect
And have no synonym;


I have never for a moment
Doubted your love.

It’s true, I get lost in words
Believing words alone
Can love you,

Forgive me, Love,
I get mixed up

With the life we led
And the one I imagined
We possessed.


I’m a writer
And a hopeless romantic

You don’t always know
My deepest needs and fears—

You think you understand me
But have you tracked

The way of the wind in the night—
All the desolate alleys my soul takes?


I’m not defending my failings—
I’m far from perfect

But who else unfurls
The fabric of night for you,

Or shows you
The moon over black water
Spilling diamonds

Or stars glimmering
In her wake?


Yes, I often fail you
But I need you to remember

I took you to that windy hill
Where stars on every side fall away;

And yes, I’m imperfect
Haunted by your beauty,

But trying to be perfect
And failing in every way.



© 2018, John J Geddes. All rights reserved



Photo



Sort:  

Tantas preguntas en un mismo poema, tanta dulzura y miedo ante el otro, señor @johnjgeddes. Es hermoso lo que la voz poética hace del y por el ser amado. Solo los poetas pueden regalar y construir lunas y estrellas. La perfección siempre está en los ojos: como la madre que mira el hijo, como Dios que mira el alma. Nos sabemos imperfectos antes las bellezas sobrehumanas, ante el amor que hace magia. Pero aunque fallemos en nuestro intento, queremos ser perfectos en el amor. Es lunes. Un abrazo

Sí, Nancy, tratamos de ser perfectos en el amor y tal vez lo mejor que podemos esperar es ser perfectamente imperfecto :)

Beautifully written. Good people try to be the best person they can be each and every day. On one side, we have our best selves, trying to self-actualise and on the other, we have a survival mechanism, which sometimes seems to conflict with our wishes. This gives us our own binary opposition - the universal good v evil paradigm. This poem captures it perfectly.

thank you, katy, for such an insightful reflection

Thank you, that's really sweet of you. I also read some of the other comments, and perhaps the writer who pointed out that really, the "I" of the poem was trying to achieve his ideal self in the relationship, not necessarily as extreme as the good v evil analogy :) I enjoy reading your poems. They're more "real" than lots of the dross that counts as experience :) or actions that affect us :)

thanks, katy - I appreciate that encouragement :)

The words of a true romantic! Always doubting ourselves and our ability to provide. A wonderful poem to the one you love. You are truly gifted to be able create this sweet poetry.

Thanks, @birdsinparadise, for always having a substantial comment

Oh goodness, Deb is going to love this:) Such a vulnerable telling of one's heart and so beautiful. Bravo, John:)

Thanks, Pryde :)

I usually hate poetry, I just do not have the ability to understand it. But you have managed to captivate me, we are imperfect trying to be the opposite, finding ourselves more and more wrapped in chains, she will always ask more... sorry if uoy dont understand me, my english is bad

Thank you, mery - I understand you perfectly - A Siren always wraps men in chains :)

Powerful poem...
It is so deep in its simplicity...
Enjoy every line of it...

Thanks for sharing, dear @johnjgeddes ...❤

You are welcome...❤

Congratulations, your post received 3.26% up vote form @spydo courtesy of @johnjgeddes! I hope, my gratitude will help you getting more visibility.
You can also earn by making delegation. Click here to delegate to @spydo and earn 95% daily reward payout! Follow this link to know more about delegation benefits.

You got a 3.27% upvote from @postpromoter courtesy of @johnjgeddes!

Want to promote your posts too? Check out the Steem Bot Tracker website for more info. If you would like to support the development of @postpromoter and the bot tracker please vote for @yabapmatt for witness!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63815.31
ETH 3124.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99