Martyr

in #poetry6 years ago



14565402402_f4caef7d32_b.jpg



I wake, I sleep,


On trains, in darkness—


Faces in books

Stare at me;


Still I won't be a martyr.


Today I realized

Life was passing me by;


But still I won't be a martyr.


O life, my life,

Why am I disturbed

By this grief?



© 2018, John J Geddes. All rights reserved



Photo



Sort:  

Why the pain? Because maybe if you are a martyr! Because maybe if we die for our ideas and ideals, @johnjgeddes... Because in the face of silence, we prefer the word. Because in the face of injustice, in the face of the suffering of others, we open our hearts. It is the poet who suffers in living flesh the persecution for carrying a flag that belongs to everyone: the word. Here are the poets to defend themselves, their weapon is the heart. Nice night.

As always, a poetic and beautiful response, Nancy. Yes, we carry the flag of the word and pay the price for waving it.

Nice
Following upvote resteem done

So deep.!! beautiful!

thank you for your response

Great work dear . Lovely poetry.
Thanks for sharing.

Posted using Partiko Android

This makes me wonder,"am i alrd being a martyr?" At some point,maybe...

I think we all question ourselves

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 62796.11
ETH 3045.55
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85