One Day

in #poetry5 years ago



We can change in one day.
We can fall in love in one day.
Anything can happen in one day.

― Gayle Forman



russian-date-russian-girl.jpg



Walking down Yonge Street
In the wind,


Past bleary windows
And chestnut vendors;

A young girl,
Camel coat,
Light brown hair,

Walks toward me...
Smiling.



© 2019, John J Geddes. All rights reserved



Photo



Sort:  

Gosh! You still got chestnut vendors? Do they still roast them over coals?

Your poem only contributes to my puzzlement.

Why is it I find a smile adds so much beauty while also lightening my mood, making me feel happy - while at the same time, a tiny ache travels from my heart to my mind.

btw - I get the same way with the magic of music. A woman who sings beautifully, for some reason I can no longer see her as ugly, for it feels as if her inner world has found a way to shine out and touch me, so that a haze of 'beauty' (the energy of life?) has transformed her.

A small anecdote:

A couple of years ago, I was walking in the mall when I saw a stunningly beautiful woman of about 20 to 23, very natural, little if any makeup, walking towards me. I've always been a bit shy so what I did caught me by just as much of a surprise as it did her.

I stopped her and said, "Excuse me, I mean nothing more than I am saying and I hope you go on from here to live a wonderful life. I just had to thank you, for seeing your beauty has made my day beautiful for me."

I walked away without looking back, but I could see her standing, looking after me, reflected in the shop window panes. I wondered if I'd had the effect I had hoped for on her. I imagine she told her friends or family and they had a good laugh - but I still was the one who benefitted, for her beauty really did make me happy for a moment or two, without my needing or wanting anything more.

I tthink I also was happy that I had finally matured enough to dare speak to a beautiful women, telling her how she made me feel, without my caring what others will think of me.

Just a pity I had to wait so long for it to happen.

It's amazing in a way what gets put into a poem - chestnut vendors - well, it actually happened and seemed part of the ambiance that evoked that moment - what the critics call verisimilitude.

The second aspect is how the experience resonates afterwards...kind of like Wordsworth musing about oft when on his couch he'd lie in vacant or in pensive mood as scenes from memory flashed upon his inner eye that is the bliss of solitude, lol.

And finally, to wear out a familiar refrain of mine - as we get lder we get honester, and that's something too.

Have a good day, my friend.

every thing can happen in just one day............. Your whole life can change in one day......
lovely poetry...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64275.02
ETH 3139.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.14