Promise

in #poetry6 years ago (edited)



earth-birth.jpg



I came from a dark salt sea


Burst into light
In a cloud of bubbles,

Up from the depth
Of nothingness

Only to behold
Your loveliness.

And you ask me
If I ever cared

Or stayed by you
Through dark despair,

When everything in me is telling you
I have never, ever stopped loving you…

And in the end I’ll still be there,
Stroking your soft bright hair.



© 2018, John J Geddes. All rights reserved



Photo



Sort:  

This is good poetry. Your metaphors are easy to relate with. And the emotions in the poem is purely human.
One thing quite unique about this piece is the fact that it encompasses doubt and reassurance side by side. Quite emotional. Did you write this from a recent experience?

thanks, @poeticnest - it is a recent experience and yes, all my poetry is deeply personal although lending itself to comprehension on different levels

It's quite obvious. Thank you for sharing.

Very good brother

Deep poetry!
Everything comes from Nothing! You just showed that fact again.
I love the cosmic nature of the poem and the swift diversion to a personal human relationship one can easily relate to.
It's...deep!
Thanks for sharing

I summon @poeticnest to come see this.

thank you, @godwine - appreciate this

For the record, I'm a big fan of your work. 😁
I'm glad you got to see my comment😁

Evocative and mystical, @Johnjgeddes. Is this a love letter addressed to one's mother, or the Divine (and, does it matter... to define is to limit)?

The 'dark salt sea / Burst into light' contrast is quite powerful, well done.

yes, it is a love letter and the ambivalence of symbolism leaves it open to different interpretations on many levels. Thank you

Such a beautiful love poem! I like the way you used the rhymes and metaphors. Heartfelt. I loved that in the end there was room left for hope.

thanks, @lymepoet - there's always that tension between despair and hope, but my basic aim in art is not to hang a dismal picture on the wall

Darkness and morbidity at the start. Then light at the end. But the light is always there and the dark too is at the end.

I could imagine a child talking to his mother through a wonderful piece of written art.

This is moving my heart. Thumbs up for this! :)

wow. Thats my type of poem. John since getting ill I write poems to my wife almost daily. Some I have posted here. If you have a chance to read a few from my beginning and give me input. I would be eternally gratefull

thanks, Brian

Ne kadar içten duygulu bir şiir 🙏

Dear bro
@johnjgeddes
you are very intellegent. Your work is very prousperous.. i jus upvote your post and resteem your post. I'm new at steemit. So those who are working on steemit need their help. You are doing the job and are successful and so I want to help you if you have a little help. And I can not forget your help forever. So all of you ask me to help me a little. Your steemit life will be successful

thank you, @sabbirahmedd. There are many, many people who have been on the site for months who are struggling and desperately need money - why should your voice be heard above theirs? Have you made a great effort to produce excellent content or spent hours reading posts so you can make a meaningful comment? No. You have just come onto the site and want to get rich quick and that simply doesn't happen - here, or anywhere.

My advice to you is to put in those hours either producing good, original content or curating other's work. Never beg for upvotes or annoy people by offering to trade vote for vote. If you want to be successful on here, put in the work.

This post has received a 4.49 % upvote from @boomerang thanks to: @johnjgeddes

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 67066.21
ETH 3093.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.75