Questions and Possible Answers

in #poetry6 years ago



765px-Chromology_The_Mirror.jpg



I don't know what God is. I don't know what death is. But I believe
they have between them some fervent and necessary arrangement.

~ Mary Oliver



Why is it
In the dead of night
Everything seems desolate?


The Moon ascends to cold heights
And I, a ragged sky
Filled with dark kisses...
Lie abandoned by you.

I need to hear your voice
To remind me,
Reassure me
I’m even still alive.


This is the curse
Lying awake in bed

You get to love solitude
See the Moon rise and set,

And time to watch it trace
The window square
Across the wall
In silent grace.


Is life a gift
Or a death sentence?

As Ibsen says,
We live a life-lie,
Putting off the inevitable
To some undefined future time;

It makes the threat less credible.


But one day we’ll be swept away
Like the bitter day
We went to watch the waves
And the wind took
Your red cap and mittens
Blew them into the sea…

That will happen to you and me


I don’t know why but
Love seems eternal—
Maybe because it’s not physical,

Even when you’re dead,
The heart's not an organ
But a whisper in your head


And that’s the way to leave:
Without tears or shouts

Pass suddenly
Like wooly mammoths
Unknowing, and
Flash frozen…
Buttercups in their mouths.



© 2018, John J Geddes. All rights reserved



Photo



Sort:  

Pass suddenly
Like wooly mammoths
Unknowing, and
Flash frozen…
Buttercups in their mouths

Beautiful story telling of shorts in this piece ... your metaphoric examples were wonderful:)

thank you, Pryde

Love seems eternal—
Maybe because it’s not physical,

Amé esa frase... ! Todo realmente!
Oscuro y cálido.
La tonalidad de estas palabras me fascinó...
Es frustrante saber que la verdad aún a la llegada
de nuestra muerte estará inmovil y no nos abrirá sus puertas...
Intrigas @johnjgeddes.
Gracias <3

Gracias, Celeste. Pocas veces escribo sobre eso porque es un acertijo y no me gusta el enfoque. Intento no colgar una imagen deprimente en la pared :)

Aún así tu enfoque es bastante peculiar e interesante.
Tal vez no todos lo vean, pero eres tú en tu expersión...
Y si, es un tema que mientras más se
extiende más acertijos trae consigo.

Gracias por tu amable respuesta

Por nada @johnjgeddes. Un abrazo. ¡Saludos!

And the wind took
Your red cap and mittens
Blew them into the sea…

That's the part I can't wrap my head around - one second here, the next second gone. I like your description.

Thanks, Ginny :)

You got a 2.40% upvote from @postpromoter courtesy of @johnjgeddes!

Want to promote your posts too? Check out the Steem Bot Tracker website for more info. If you would like to support the development of @postpromoter and the bot tracker please vote for @yabapmatt for witness!

22365702_1701473389920230_3049264217589121567_n.jpg

in this Era of smart phones and such other things , this kind of thoughts and feelings that shown in this poem , is so encourage able , and also motivational ,

Loved it <3 @johnjgeddes

Wow a beautiful and lovely story and I hope is sceasful

Every single day your poem entertains, amazes or touches me in one or other way - you are so talented

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61209.23
ETH 2940.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.73