Shadow Self

in #poetry6 years ago (edited)



a56775dc45d92ae00ced73d22e237fb0.jpg



I used to be a light chaser
But now prefer moonlight


Cobalt lightning may suffice
If I allow it to paint the night

I no longer hide but seek the fright
Without being out in it, but safe inside

And with you, I'm reassured,
Knowing you’re by my side.


But I have a shadow self
That scares me more than anything else

It paints in images
On my psyche’s cave wall

Symbols primitive and disturbing
From some distant generation

And it’s in me in fear and flight
To easily kill an intruder to stay alive.


I have no fear of men in the night..

But if one broke in, I’d take his life.



© 2018, John J Geddes. All rights reserved



Photo



Sort:  

John your imagination is infinite and the overturning in these brief words of your poetry express how volatile people are. If our mind nests spaces of past times where man fought against the elements for their survival. An affectionate hug.

thank you, Felix - for your insightful response

Thank you my dear friend. Now I do resteem of your post. Best regards

It paints in images
On my psyche’s cave wall

Always there reminding us of our darker side.

yes, it's a wise man who knows his own sin

This is very deep John.Like creepy creatures that lurks in the night. Creepy.

This is about fear and courage if am not mistaken.
Great content sir.

Thanks for sharing.

it is...thanks, Tomiwa

Please i want you to help me to tell me what am lacking in my post as a minnow, I am hoping to learn from your amazing poetry and writing.
@captain-tom

https://steemit.com/life/@captain-tom/causes-of-broken-relationships-episode-02-by-the-youngest-love-doctor

https://steemit.com/education/@captain-tom/education-the-key-to-a-better-future-why-are-deprived-of-it-be-the-voice-for-the-helpless.
Your help will be appreciated, I can run errands here or do something in return sir.

that's not how it works, Tomiwa - You learn by watching what others do and developing your own voice. There are no short cuts

Ok.. Thanks for the advice

''But I have a shadow self
That scares me more than anything else

It paints in images
On my psyche’s cave wall''

Very interesting theme and well written too. Much enjoyed

Beautiful poem @johnjgeddes.

Love poetry is very romantic but have a fear of her own love of women may have been disappointed by a man who is loved. Poems that contain elements of philosophy in it. Very good and I really like @johnjgeddes 👍👍🙏🙏

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64664.11
ETH 3166.18
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.11