Strange Creatures

in #poetry6 years ago



cave painting.jpg



We’re strange creatures
Who like pictures


With thousands of years
Between us.


You speak in images
With dyes and charcoal sticks

And show me your world
In fleeting glimpses,

All the things
Important to you.


I feel close
As if reaching back in my mind

But you have no voice
Speaking inside,

Still I see your world
And it's not unlike mine.


So I paint
What you might have said

Feeling your thoughts
Inside my head

Making marks
On a computer screen instead.



© 2018, John J Geddes. All rights reserved



Representation of cave art by Rebecca Zdybel

Sort:  

i Wonder if those marks can last thousands of years

I would say they are less likely to survive the ravages of time but cave art may still be there :)

very beautiful. where did you get the idea. you continue to amaze me. I wrote today a deeper poem I am afraid. Again amazing work. Love the buffaloes

love this... artist and writer. same but different.

Very good @johnjgeddes
You have support by mr @done
I like it

Very interesting and subtle. Well thought out and flowing. I enjoyed it. Thank You.

You got a 3.76% upvote from @postpromoter courtesy of @johnjgeddes!

Want to promote your posts too? Check out the Steem Bot Tracker website for more info. If you would like to support the development of @postpromoter and the bot tracker please vote for @yabapmatt for witness!

Nice poetry dude... have you considered Haiku? Just a thought. Resteemed!

What a perfect match up in what you wrote as to how you feel as you look at this photo or even other cave drawings. <3

Good writing, according to the image, is what I value most of the words when they keep pace and can say and transmit a lot.

It's good to know the history, sir. and remember the animals in the picture. to connect them with love. It was perfect. congratulations :)
nice post

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 65139.82
ETH 3206.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.16