The Parliament of Fowls

in #poetry6 years ago (edited)



parliament-of-birds_de-hamelton.jpg



I felt a pair of eyes
From a nearby tree


And soon was aware
They were watching me.

I walked down the path
Past the tiny creek,

And a flutter followed
Through the leaves.

When I stopped and looked back
The motion ceased.

I sat on a tree stump
And joined the silence;

I tried to become
Part of the environment.

Shyly, as if afraid to be seen,

A mourning dove lighted
In front of me.

...

Now, I’ve been shadowed by crows
And accompanied by robins,

But never had a dove
Pay me any attention.

I had nothing to offer
In terms of food,

But stayed with him
Simply from love.

We were silent together
Then, off he went.

And I’ve often wondered
About his intent,

We humans complicate every event.

...

But let’s keep things simple
As we should—

He saw me out walking
In a lonely woods,

And thought he’d welcome me
To the neighborhood.

That’s close as I can come
To why he paused,

And in the Parliament of fowls
That’s probable cause.



© 2018, John J Geddes. All rights reserved



Photo



Sort:  

Sabías que algunos pájaros pueden simbolizar cosas buenas o malas, @johnjgeddes? Se ha descubierto que los pájaros se acercan a las almas nobles y especialmente las palomas. Ciertamente, salvando la distancia con la película de Alfred Hitchcock, pueden atacar, pero solo si se sienten amenazadas. Me gusta que este poema tenga cierto aire de relato y de humor. Te abrazo fuerte!

Recuerdo la historia de Hitchcock, desde que era joven y me hizo desconfiar de las aves. Pero a medida que pasaba el tiempo, me enamoré de ellos de nuevo. Uno de mis valores más fuertes es el respeto por la vida, y sí, a veces incluso los animales salvajes pueden ser muy divertidos

This post has received a 1.90 % upvote from @booster thanks to: @johnjgeddes.

Beautiful bro...

You got a 3.03% upvote from @upme thanks to @johnjgeddes! Send at least 3 SBD or 3 STEEM to get upvote for next round. Delegate STEEM POWER and start earning 100% daily payouts ( no commission ).

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

Congratulations, your post received 8.26% up vote form @spydo courtesy of @johnjgeddes! I hope, my gratitude will help you getting more visibility.
You can also earn by making delegation. Click here to delegate to @spydo and earn 95% daily reward payout! Follow this link to know more about delegation benefits.

Nice writing and its word phrase is wonderful..great. regards me.!

Smiling ... loved that ending. Clever, clever, John:)

~Pasear por tus pensamientos debe ser una experiencia peculiar y muy interesante John J Geddes. Leerte fue extrañamente tranquilizante y atrayente para mi.

@johnjgeddes

great contribution. Thanks for the effort

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64303.16
ETH 3137.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97