While You’re Away

in #poetry6 years ago



stormy-night-milan-melicharek.jpg



It’s raining again…


Outside, the storm
Is taking liberties

Careening drunkenly
Down the street
Scattering
Branches of trees.


It’s plain to me
The wind has a purpose—

To rattle the window panes,
Disturb the cat
And make me miss you.


You’re on the other coast
So far from our Great Lakes
And it always happens
When I need you most.

It’s hard this time;

My heart breaks
In so many different ways
That when it finally heals,
It will have fault lines.


I want to write
A poem for you
But I’m afraid—

Words are so strong
And I’ll just end up
Covered
In your paint.

It’s futile…

I want the sweetness
And intimacy
Of our beginning
Without the bitterness
Of our struggle,

But I can’t have light
Without darkness
And the words
I write
Are holes I punch
In the walls
Of my psyche.


Anyway,
I hope it’s raining
Tonight in B.C.

I hope you’re safe
And warm—

Because, I don't just wish
You rain, Beloved;

I wish you the beauty of storms.



© 2018, John J Geddes. All rights reserved



Photo



Sort:  

Y a veces el poema es como ese relámpago que lo alumbra todo y tiene un ruido ensordecedor, @johnjgeddes. Cuando la lluvia trae la tristeza, es porque estamos empapados de soledad. La lluvia no es ajena a nuestro estado de ánimo. Con ella se agolpa todo, porque arrasa a su paso lo que hay en los rincones del pensamiento. Es a veces la lluvia el adiós que cae del cielo o la apertura de todas las puertas del deseo. Una noche bonita para ti, @johnjgeddes!

es verdad, Nancy, la lluvia no es ajena a nuestro estado de ánimo. Uso el clima como un indicador externo de un estado de ánimo interno

I wish you the beauty of storms.

I love that. It is a sweet intimacy that lightens out of such darkness.

Thanks, lydon :)

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

What a beautiful poetry, I love it, you do it very well.

Make a subscription and admiration and you return

Outside, the storm
Is taking liberties

There's a sensuality to this that is so subtle. I love the juxtaposition of emotion throughout the piece and the final line resonates.

thanks for the response

Congratulations, your post received 8.31% up vote form @spydo courtesy of @johnjgeddes! I hope, my gratitude will help you getting more visibility.
You can also earn by making delegation. Click here to delegate to @spydo and earn 95% daily reward payout! Follow this link to know more about delegation benefits.

You got a 2.01% upvote from @postpromoter courtesy of @johnjgeddes!

Want to promote your posts too? Check out the Steem Bot Tracker website for more info. If you would like to support the development of @postpromoter and the bot tracker please vote for @yabapmatt for witness!

This post has been selected for curation by @msp-curation by @sunravelme. It has been upvoted and will be featured in this week's Working Title post. It will also be considered for the official @minnowsupport curation post and if selected will be resteemed from the main account. Feel free to join us on Discord!

Wow, this is powerful... and the punchline!

"I wish you the beauty of storms."

Yes, they are beautiful, aren't they?

😄😇😄

@creatr

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 61618.64
ETH 3009.45
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.78