Chance of a Lifetime

in #poetry6 years ago

Did I post this already? Oh well, doesn't matter, I'm posting it again. A poem I wrote after watching a video on You Tube.

community.jpg
If all tiny homes for the elderly/homeless were like this, we would have such a wonderful community for all.

I was born in the streets of the USA.

Was raised by the homeless and learned how to pray.

Every day, if I wanted to eat a meal,

I’d dig through the trash cans or I had to steal.

I grew up working, not having any fun.

Wondered if the next day would be my last one.

I tried every day to help myself advance.

But most employers would not give me a chance.

One day a nice man came up to me and said,

“How would you like to be in a house instead?”

I thought he was kidding, maybe just a trick.

Out of all the homeless, why was I the pick?

He said, “I have been watching you from afar”.

“I have noticed what a hard worker you are”.

“You are kind and honest, even though you are poor”.

“That made me think that you deserved to have more”.

He brought me to the store and bought me some clothes.

The next stop was a pedicure for my toes.

We went to a café, got something to eat.

I even got to have my first ice cream treat.

Then he said, “Are you ready for your new home?”

“It’s not far”. “Just down this street, we need to roam”.

That small house was a site for my tired eyes.

In my stomach, there were many butterflies.

The inside was nice, it was hard to believe,

that everything in there now belonged to me.

I know my eyes lit up and I felt my face beam.

I pinched myself to make sure it wasn’t a dream.

It’s time to contribute to society.

I’ll make the best of it, you just wait and see.

After I get settled, I’ll do what I can.

To help some more homeless come up with a plan.

Sort:  

a nice poem..

Thank you. I have a few that I think are very good, some that are good, most of them probably just okay and a few that most likely suck. If I knew how, I'd put them all in a little book.

yes I've read this poem before 😄

Posted using Partiko Android

Yeah. I looked it up afterward. It's okay. I think it's still a good poem with a good message so getting as many people to read it as possible is good.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64386.10
ETH 3142.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.98