Poetic Power

in #poetry6 years ago

I can't express how much I love the power of words... The ability to fuze words together to make you time travel if only for that moment.

Yesterday I posted a poem written by eswaller, and it was nothing less than magnificent. I thoroughly enjoy his poems. Matter of fact I enjoy poetry in all forms.

I have been patiently waiting to go to an open mic poetry night, and thankfully my friend is going to take me in the next couple weeks. I will have so much to say about that event, and i'm eager to share my experience that night with you all.

This poem was written by eswaller, and it was published January 2 of 2018. I hope you all enjoy it.

Here In Heaven

Your presence feels like heaven and peace.
You open your arms wide to let me into
Your safe haven and kingdom. You cease
All wars and battles. I am grateful for you,
A place to go when I need to rest and heal.
Your eyes, like looking into calm waters
And deep oceans. You make it easy to peel
Back all of the layers. We are daughters
And sons of you, wise one. We have tread
In your waters and explored your luscious
Land. Everything that was dry and dead
Has been revived. All of the paintbrushes
Used to create clouds and stars that scatter
Across the sky. None of it will truly matter
As the sunlight shines brighter on most days.
You will forever be in my grace and praise.

Sort:  

I like poetry since I was born)

You must have a very beautiful parents who are good at poetry too....guess that is why you love it so much @anforo

love this. theres something powerful about this quip

Very true, that is why we have metonymic phrase: "The pen is mightier than the sword". Communicating through words is far more effective tool than any other thing. Nice poetry!

You said my mind bro!
Thumbs up

A vast world created by imagination, thought, feeling and rhythm.

"Keep calm and write poems."

images.png
Cold fists iron fists
Born in a family of beasts
Trying to run away from the death list
I fell and broke my wrist

Going down my memory lane
This heart and soul no longer knows pain
Gazing at the clouds by the window pane
These eyes know no rain

I no longer hear the wailing in my brain
No more blood drain
Finally peace has reigned
Thats why i sing this refrain

It seems you good in writing of poem too
Nice one

U just showed u are good with the rhymes

I like poetry and I feel tremendous strength in the words of poetry, but I am not good at poetry, I have to imitate and poetry to you to make poetry, thanks for sharing this beautiful poem ...

we all have our own strengths and skills - some have a way with words, some with images, some with intellect, or tools. our differences is what makes it all the more special and powerful. some of my favorite people to share my poetry with are non-artistic folks - because they feel such power in the words that is something exotic to them.

i have some poems and quips posted to my blog if you would like to read more:)

https://steemit.com/poetry/@itinerantartist/home
or on IG at @handwrittenreveries

Beautiful work, thank you for sharing it! Resteemed and following :)

Does anybody know of good ways to get involved in the poetry community on this site? Contests or curators, for instance?

here are some poems of mine:

https://mspsteem.com/poetry/@bennettitalia/capitulation-a-poem-by-bennettitalia

https://mspsteem.com/poetry/@bennettitalia/honesty-a-poem-by-bennettitalia

https://mspsteem.com/poetry/@bennettitalia/homeless-a-poem-by-bennettitalia

https://mspsteem.com/poetry/@bennettitalia/original-poem-by-bennettitalia

wow!very nice poetry..thanks for sharing this post...

I really like it! <3 congratulations

So it's so beautiful

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 70018.15
ETH 3794.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.75