Memories at Sunset

in #poetry6 years ago (edited)

Memories at Sunset
PicsArt_04-19-06.47.07.jpg
Image source http//pixabay.com

One day we will miss these days
like they were the best days of our lives.
Nostalgia I belch up, when my mind upsets,
And everything starts to make me sad and happy, at the same time.

Remember when we used to dance Awilo at birthday parties,
In those oversized suits Dad got us?
I miss those days like everyday ,
I miss my Kindergarten Crush, even though I cannot remember her face,
I miss Chinaza, that girl I gave a sachet of my hard earned milo.

I miss Grandma, I wish she could see how big Kennedy is now,
I miss Grandpa, with his solemn voice that carried wisdom.
I miss those five naira paper note, that used to be worth a lot
I also miss buying ice cream with one naira coins.

I think I am going to stop before I leak and spill a tear

They tell me life is short.
But I know they don't even know how short it is.
Life is 2 seconds.
It's On....and Off in a blink.
So be happy and live right.
Cos you won't live any moment twice.

Sort:  

Nice poem. I think it teaches us to enjoy each moment as it passes quickly but stays forever in our memory. Nice photograph at the beginning of your post.

Thanks.... Glad you like it.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 69488.13
ETH 3501.35
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.69