Evenings in E | NaPoWriMo Day 30

in #poetry6 years ago (edited)

Every eve
bees fly,
trees sweep the sky
when red sphere sets.

Felines stretch,
they mew, expect feed/ seek
shelter where we dwell.
They enter,
elven eyes peer,
fleece sheds everywhere
we sweep
we sweep
we sweep.
they sleep.

We remember the week
they presented themselves
by the steps:
September sped by,
the streets seethed,
sweltered pre drenched sky's brew,
elements expressed themselves,
effervescent excess fell,
wetted demesne.

Even then
the neem trees
swept the sky,
bees flew,
three new members
entered where we dwell.


About this Poem

This poem was inspired by a course prompt to write a Lipogram. A Lipogram is a piece of text that specifically chooses to exclude a particular letter of the alphabet. Here, I chose to exclude all vowels except for e (I cheated once - see if you can spot the vowel that isn't e).
This was exceptionally hard to write, but also super fun. Some lines are a bit convoluted as a result, but I'm happy I managed to at least maintain some level of grammar. It was somewhat inspired by the three felines that wander my house, Leia and her two children Obi and Kanobi (Wan ran away) and their dad Han Solo is an occasional visitor.


Leia



Obi and Kanobi





In other news, this marks Day 30 of NaPoWriMo and it's the first time I've every pushed myself to write every single day for such a long period of time.
It's been a huge learning experience for me in creating a new relationship with writing, especially considering that before this month I wouldn't write till I had an idea almost fully formed. I'm celebrating with an art party with @soulturtle, @manouche and her sister, and @desaibhavya.

Huge shoutout to everyone who's followed along through this writing journey. I intend on continuing a writing discipline, but first I need a break so I can go back to sleeping at normal times. Till then, look forward to some non poetry content here!

Thanks for reading!

Sort:  

Congratulations @karunya! You received a personal award!

1 Year on Steemit

Click here to view your Board of Honor

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Saint Nicholas challenge for good boys and girls

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @karunya! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 71239.75
ETH 3686.52
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.75