Looking for Ideas | NaPoWriMo Day 29

in #poetry6 years ago

I roam around my house
looking for ideas.

like I have lost something
and then forgotten what I'm searching for.

I check between pages of books,
and then behind the milk carton in the fridge,

I look into my cats' questioning eyes
and the carpet of fur they trail behind.

I peek under the carpet
and in to the sink.

I check my reflection in the mirror
and then almost empty the dustbin.

Maybe I left it in the car?
(Wait, am I looking for something I already had?)

I check the fridge (again)
and then I check my phone.

And then I check the time,
and it is late and maybe this should wait

until tomorrow, when my mother is awake
and can remind me where I've kept what I need

once I remember
what it is I've been looking for.

Sort:  

This honestly very good! Reminds me a little of one of my favourite poems, 'Lost and Found' by Maxine Chernoff, although yours takes a much more realist approach. You write so consistently, its almost a shame NaPoWriMo is over - hope we won't have to wait too long for new poems :)

Maybe you could try one of the poetry competitions here on steemit? They can be a great way to attract new readers, if that's what you're after!

Thank you so much! Yeah, I actually started writing something else and then found this poem when I went downstairs in the middle of the night to get some food from the fridge, haha!
Yeah, it was great writing everyday, but I needed a break. It's not at all easy! But I intend on getting back to it. The great thing about NaPoWriMo was that I posted it regardless of what I thought of it. Otherwise I don't always post.
Competitions sound good! I've only come across a couple, but will lookout for more. Thanks again for stopping by and for sticking through most of the journey!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 70880.42
ETH 3658.45
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.75