Mathematics of Relationships | NaPoWriMo Day 14

in #poetry6 years ago (edited)


source




i) 1 + X = 2; Solve for X.
  Ask if the one must have the X factor.

ii) 24/7 = ?
  Divide your life into fractions and see
  how many you're willing to share.

iii)1 + 1 = X
  1 = X - 1
  When the sum of the parts doesn't add up,
  carry over, subtract, and balance the equation.

iv) 0.75 < 1
  The ones that aren't whole
  will try to round off to the nearest value.
  But remember, every decimal point counts.

v) If you have trouble calculating positives and negatives,
  or need to add and subtract,
  keep the sign of the greater number
  then it'll be exact.


About the Poem

This poem is wildly different from my usual style, but I just thought I'd try something fun and different in response to a writing course prompt to limit all figures of speech to a general thematic unity. So, every metaphor and word play is related to math, which is interesting because from what I've seen around me, relationships involve some serious calculated steps these days (which is also why I wrote it as a numbered list).

Also, if you've been counting the days, it's been 14 days, or 2 weeks of this 1 month of poetry. Half way through, almost! I'm 100% patting myself on the back right now.

If you have any suggestions, ideas or things you'd like to see me explore through my writing in the next two weeks, let me know! I'd be grateful for the prompts.


Thanks for reading!

Sort:  

Ah, I love this so much! I went through a phase a year or so back where I wrote all my poems as logic trees. This takes me back!

It's such a great way to subvert the expectations of the reader. Presenting something from the emotional, sentimental realm in terms of pure, cold numbers. The effect here is striking. I always get excited when I see poets break away into more experimental forms - this piece truly is yours and yours alone.

Thank youuu!
Oh that's interesting. You should definitely post some of the logic trees!
I like what you said about subverting the expectation of the reader through contrast, but I think also through deviating from familiar style.

I think they might be a little bit too weird for public consumption haha. Maybe when I'm feeling brave one day...

Yes, the style is definitely part of what makes this. It wouldn't look out of place nestled beside problems in a maths book, which adds a great deal to the theme you've chosen :)

Oh I LOVE this! People always articulate love through words, actions, gestures, gifts. But Math? It's absolutely beautiful!!

Thanks! Yeah, this poem has been swimming in my mind for a while but it was really tough to get on paper. At points I wanted to shift from mathematical imagery to words, but refrained. Glad it worked!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 71181.66
ETH 3647.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.75