Packed Days | NaPoWriMo Day 22

in #poetry6 years ago (edited)


source

I plan my days
like I am packing for a short trip
that warrants a bag
just big enough
for all the essentials.

But I fill it with everything
I might
(or might not) need,
always accounting for the potentiality
of any occurrence,
for if there's space,
I might as well fill it
with something
that could be useful.

And then, I wonder if
taking two bags
would leave one too empty,
(unless I fill that too)
so I stuff to the brim
and master the art
of retrieving contents
without them causing an explosion.

Most often, I'm travelling alone,
so I cannot share the load or
give someone that extra
pair of pants or my chargers
to carry.

But I manage to fit it all in,
even if sometimes, it becomes
too heavy to carry,

and yet,
whenever I leave the house,
with my packed bag,
even if I've checked off
checklists of
checklists,
I can't shake off
the nagging suspicion
that I'm missing something
essential.

Sort:  

Nice write! I like the central metaphor and think you carried it through to the end very satisfyingly :)

and master the art
of retrieving contents
without them causing an explosion.

Great comparison - I think we've all had days where everything seems to be on the verge of falling to pieces...

Thank you! I'm so glad it came through. Yes, so many days seem to be feeling like that of late, and yet it still doesn't feel like enough!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 71443.06
ETH 3660.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.73