POEM: Desolation & Promise – AND IT’S MY STEEMIVERSARY!

in #poetry4 years ago

This post serves two purposes. It’s my response to a writing prompt offered up by @steemhousepub, and also the first post I’ve done since being notified that I’ve been blogging on the Steem blockchain for over two years now.

So that’s something.

I think it’s fitting that my second Steemiversary post should be a poem. I’m a poet at heart, and so many of my posts here have been poetic musings of various forms. I hope you enjoy this one, which was inspired by the image below. Be sure to check out the writing prompt post if you want to try your hand at some fiction or poetry based on this visual prompt.


two sides to the same roadimage source

Desolation & Promise


T’was not in the space between waking and dreaming,
Nor the exhale before the great beyond,
But on a jaunt through the country when my vision blurred.
Grave choices stretched on and on.

I saw it then, two futures clear,
One desolate, one glorious and alive.
The void pulled with desperate force,
While green solace breathed and thrived.

The quiet drowned in cacophony;
Humanity’s bellowing, chaotic sounds.
Dread gripped me as I felt the void
Suck them in and drink them down.

The promise of beauty waited,
Like a patient vision of what could be,
If only things were different,
And oppressors fell to the free.

I stopped mid-stride and struggled
Against devastation’s magnetic tide,
Then fell to my knees in horror and hope.
And I prayed. And I cried.

Original poetry by Katrina Ariel

With all that's going on in the world, it's a struggle to stay optimistic, but I do. I'm stubborn that way.

I'm also deeply empathetic, so I suffer when I see fires and destruction. I feel for the loss of life on so many levels. Animals, trees, people. I hate that so much of what is happening now (fires, floods, wars) could be helped if the priorities of leadership were to take care of the planet and to take care of each other. If what is spent on military and industry was instead spent on creating a sustainable future, there would be enough for everyone and we could combat climate change with innovation.

The image used for this prompt is one that invokes strong feelings, which I've tried to put into this poem. The most important message, for me, is that we still have choices. And I will never give up hope.

Thanks for reading!

Whatever happens, keep singing your song!

Peace. @katrina-ariel


Author bio: Katrina Ariel is an old-soul rebel, musician, tree-hugging yogini, and mama bear to twins. Author of Yoga for Dragon Riders (non-fiction) and Wild Horse Heart (romance), she's another free-spirit swimming in the ocean of life. Check out her music here: https://choon.co/artists/katrina-ariel/

Katrina’s writing website


Sort:  

Beautiful <3

If only things were different


Happy steemiversary ❤️

Heyyyy, @hazem91, long time no see. Hello!!!!

heyyy :)
how's it going?

Yes. And thank you, my friend. Hope you are well.

Nice poetry. I know how you feel when seeing the destruction going on around the world. It’s hard to watch the fires in Oz and not tear up when seeing the suffering of the people and the animals.

I hear that. I'm a fellow Aussie. our nearest fires are less than 20 miles away

I’ve been watching it on the news and praying for rain and cooler weather to help- as are many others. It’s heartbreaking to see the little koalas and the kangaroos with burns and some cannot be saved.
Please stay safe.
Blessings from Canada. 💕 🙏

Prayers help. Thank you for all the kind thoughts and your thoughtful comments. Blessings from western Canada, all around the world.

Thinking of you down there. Hope you're safe.

Thanks for sharing your experience with us!
TIBLogo

You have been curated by @freedompoint on behalf of Inner Blocks: a community encouraging first hand content, with each individual living their best life, and being responsible for their own well being. #innerblocks Check it out at @innerblocks for the latest information and community updates, or to show your support via delegation.

Thank you so much!


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

Thank you for all the support you give those of us blogging on the blockchain.

Hello!

This post has been manually curated, resteemed
and gifted with some virtually delicious cake
from the @helpiecake curation team!

Much love to you from all of us at @helpie!
Keep up the great work!


helpiecake

Manually curated by @enginewitty.


@helpie is a Community Witness.

Yay for Helpies! :)

Happy Steemversary! Two years is a decent amount of time to prove yourself, but, you did that the minute you stepped in the door.

Well done, my friend. The poetry moves my soul and my heart is devastated by the state of the world. We can only pray that things will move in the right direction. They will, but, with the help of kind and gentle soul, we could move it a little faster.

I hope you are doing well! We miss you! :)

!tip

Aw, you always light up my day with your comments. Thank you for being you!

🎁 Hi @katrina-ariel! You have received 0.1 STEEM tip from @dswigle!

@dswigle wrote lately about: Trees Tuesday On Your Wednesday Walk Feel free to follow @dswigle if you like it :)

Sending tips with @tipU - how to guide.

Happy Aniversary and great poem @katrina-ariel

Thank you, I really appreciate it! :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.033
BTC 61450.33
ETH 2982.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.60