POEM: Surfing Trust

in #poetry6 years ago (edited)

In the immortal words of Tom Petty, “Everybody’s had to fight to be free.”

This poem is part of that fight, or part of the surrender, perhaps. Trust is something I continue to seek, a relationship I develop with myself even if trust issues get in the way of me being able to count on others.

Gotta at least trust my higher self, right? Find faith to carry me through…

ocean-meditation.jpg

line-divider-clean.png

Surfing Trust


Despite the storms,
I have to trust that
I’m where I need to be.

In this cold, lonely place,
I look for the beauty,
Remember to be me.

Mind caught in memories
Dragging out old hurts,
Years later, they still sting.

Try not to think of the ways
I’ve betrayed myself.
Even the caged bird sings.

When the overwhelm
Crashes over me, and waves
Of sorrow thunder inside,

I hang onto hope,
Tiny as a surfboard,
My lifeline within the tide.

When I feel like drowning,
I pull myself in.
Gotta swallow my pride.

I know I must
Keep going. Get on my feet
And take the ride.

Original writing by Katrina Ariel

line-divider-clean.png

Thoughts…


The original title of this poem was “Finding Trust in the Trap,” but I came to the conclusion that it would be better to view life as an ocean, not a cage.

What trap, you ask? Ah, well… the sacrifice of freedom that motherhood requires is on my mind, once again. And of course I love my children, and I’m grateful for my life. But life is life, and sometimes it isn’t easy. These thoughts aren't new ones, I'm just reminding myself to keep going.

Things are constantly changing, and the waves never stop. My continual lesson is to learn to flow with my emotions, to accept what is, and to persist without running away—even when that's all I want to do...

But I do my best to weather the storms. This is how I transform into a weathered warrior, and gain some of the wisdom that comes with it.

That’s what I’m shooting for, anyway. Gotta hang onto that surfboard. ;)

Thanks for reading!

Peace. @katrina-ariel

Katrina Ariel
photos mine unless otherwise credited


Author bio: Katrina Ariel is an old-soul rebel, musician, tree-hugging yogini, and mama bear to twins. Author of Yoga for Dragon Riders (non-fiction) and Wild Horse Heart (romance), she's another free-spirit swimming in the ocean of Steemit.

dragon
dragon art: Liiga Smilshkalne


IOW COLOR LOGO.png
Banner by @PegasusPhysics

Steemsugars

WITNESS_enginewittyGIF.gif
CLICK HERE TO VOTE FOR WITNESSES

alliance banner

Sort:  

I love this poem and how you use the ocean to express your feelings. I hear you and understand your struggle and are amazed by your determination and that no matter how hard life is and it didn't turn out the way you wish you still staying and seek ways to find a way to be at peace. I really hope you get some You time to recharge and don't be afraid to ask for help.
You are amazing and stay Awesome sister
❤️🌹🤗🌹❤️

Thank you. The ocean is a great metaphor—I use it constantly. Thank you for hearing me, for understanding, and for being so supportive. Yes, we have to seek peace, no matter where we are, right? Much love! 💖💖💖

very nice poem and cute hat!!!

Thank you! 💖

Love the poem and love this line

But I do my best to weather the storms. This is how I transform into a weathered warrior, and gain some of the wisdom that comes with it.

I get the feeling you not only weather the storms you thrive coming out of them

lol! You have such faith in me, thank you. 💖 Sometimes I don't feel like I'm thriving, but perhaps I am, as much as anyone else practicing being human. ;)

Well you do seem to have a positive attitude and a drive which is the right way to be :)

Hello dragon riding Yogini. If only we would be as kind to ourselves..... Sigh mastered perfectly, I haven't . ;)

Have a blessed week ahead

I guess we're not alone in not having it mastered. lol! Thank you for the sweetness. Blessings to you as well!

My continual lesson is to learn to flow with my emotions, to accept what is, and to persist without running away

This is a great lesson to be learned, a divine one and when we get this, we get life itself I think so give yourself a little break, this is not as easy as it seems. Some people never achieve it and the rest of us spend our entire lives between remembering and forgetting, remembering and forgetting, remembering and forgetting. Oh and, your poem si beautiful 💚

lol! Thank you. For this whole lovely comment. Yes, the remembering and forgetting is quite a game, isn't it. ;)

What a beautiful poem. I think I can feel your heart in it :)

Thank you so much for reading! 💖

I hang onto hope,
Tiny as a surfboard,
My lifeline within the tide.

When I feel like drowning,
I pull myself in.
Gotta swallow my pride.

I know I must
Keep going. Get on my feet
And take the ride.

I love your metaphor of life like riding a perfect swell here. It's like that, sometimes swept along on an exhilarating ride, spray spumes and crystal salt awakening.... and then others it just wipes you out. Ha ha, same board, same wave but such different experiences. I hope you catch an awesome wave soon @katrina-ariel and ride it to the shore :-)

You say it so well here. Thank you so much! 💖💖💖

Just saying sea or ocean, poem caught my eye.
the photograph is beautiful and complements your poem perfectly.
congratulations.

Perhaps that is why I love old barns so much, because they remind me of the way our souls are being weathered by the events of this Life. Deep thoughts, my dear friend, and love how you are able to embrace all that is. 🤗

aggghhhhhhh... love this!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.13
JST 0.033
BTC 63133.02
ETH 3043.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.63