POEM: Sweet Slumber

in #poetry6 years ago

sleep

I seem to write a lot of poetry about escape.

I guess this fits in that category, but it’s serene instead of rebellious. This came from a writing prompt slipped through a DM from @snook.

line

Stretched out
Soft beneath
Body heavy
Mind in retreat
Breath flows
Wave by wave
Dusty dreams
Sanity saved
Floating off
Beyond the veil
Follow the scent
Fantasy’s trail


Original writing by Katrina Ariel

line

Self-care reminder:


This being a poem about sleep, I figure I may as well slip in a self-care nudge while I’m at it. Rest is so important, and it’s easy to push long into the night (at least I find myself doing that), so remember to take the time out to unplug and get real sleep. In a bed. Without your phone. For real. ;)

Thanks for reading!

Take care of yourself, you are a gift!

Peace. @katrina-ariel

Katrina Ariel
Photos mine unless otherwise credited. Top photo credit Nat Anfield.


Author bio: Katrina Ariel is an old-soul rebel, musician, tree-hugging yogini, and mama bear to twins. Author of Yoga for Dragon Riders (non-fiction) and Wild Horse Heart (romance), she's another free-spirit swimming in the ocean of Steem.

dragon
dragon art: Liiga Smilshkalne


Steemsugars

WITNESS_enginewittyGIF.gif
CLICK HERE TO VOTE FOR WITNESSES

Witnesses keep the blockchain alive, and it costs nothing to vote for them, so please do so. @enginewitty, @jackmiller, @guiltyparties, @curie, @noblewitness, @steemgigs, @c0ff33a, @sapphic, @poetsunited, @followbtcnews, @steemcreative, @pfunk, @helpie — There are so many good ones. Do some research and cast your votes!

Thank you to ALL the witnesses who contribute to the stability and evolution of the Steem Blockchain! You are most appreciated.

alliance banner

Sort:  

I love this!! and you!! Thank You for playing along!! hugs

I need to try some sleep myself. I have been up all night. Lovely poetry too.

Sleeeeep! My favourite Hobby! haha Love the feel of this poem, it has great rhythm! <3

Ha ha she makes us do lots of things, no? Good sport. Do like it though, calm.

Posted using Partiko Android

Normal sleep. One of those arts that mostly escapes me.

I do at least try for several hours per night :)

After getting 3 hours of sleep last while watching my Witness Server replay the Blockchain on the fixed 20.3 - hoping everything would work after and of course it didn't because the Nodes needed to update and they take much much longer. Sweet slumber this evening is very temping, but I'm going to do my best to catch up on missed posts - well until I pass out anyway!

c0ff33commentaimage.png
#thealliance #witness

🥉 Your poem chosen for 3rd spot 🥉daily dose banner1-1.jpg
Dose #116

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61994.03
ETH 2917.97
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.62