Lapping Loops

in #poetry6 years ago (edited)

Lapping Loops

I sit here frozen; frozen in motion where everything 

within my reach is moving at a fast yet, slow

pace that has me standing breathless and weak upon

the knees.

***

It doesn’t stop there; in a matter of seconds a perfectly

clear mind can turn into scrambles –flashing pieces

of our history as if only for a moment, this spec of a piece

becomes reality.

***

Lapping loops around my head is where I have found 

myself standing as my body flows with the

Rhythm of everyday life; I am fighting to find a release, 

Even if it is only for a spec of a moment.

***

The most painful part is realizing the truth about reality;

the truth in which we all have attempted to give

everything to turn and run; sometimes the best of us find

 ourselves running just to loop back around.

***

As time passes, we are told we will understand in time; we

are told to put our all in time for time heals wounds,

I call bullshit –bullshit for time doesn’t heal wounds filled

with raging fire worsened by every beat.

***

Time doesn’t heal the things we hide in plain sight while

Going unnoticed; time is a reminder of what weighs 

Upon the depths of our minds when the world is resting

And we are restless.

By Kelly Clegg


@kellywin21

Sort:  

I like the poem and the title of lapping loops; nice alliteration there!

Time doesn't seem to heal all wounds, I agree. Some are dulled a bit but some things loop back around on a regular basis.

I found that "Lapping Loops" had an amazing ring to it. I am also glad that you have enjoyed your read here today!

It's the looping back around on the daily that hold the harest toll.

Happy Steeming
@kellywin21

@kellywin21 your post is very cool

Loading...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 61662.20
ETH 3059.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.84