Wakefulness (a poem)

in #poetry6 years ago

Things that go rhyme in the night.

bed.png

Lying relaxed on the pillow,
My eyelids are starting to hang,
But as soon as the room is in darkness,
They open again with a bang.

Why am I lying here wakeful?
Why has sleep not come?
My legs are starting to twitch,
My ears are starting to hum.

insomnia2.png

My nose has got a tickle,
My feet are too hot, or too cold,
I just can’t seem to get comfy,
This lying awake gets so old!

@sift666 is gifted,
He’s always been able to sleep,
But I am quite the opposite,
Some nights I just want to weep!

3am.jpg

I’ve always been a light sleeper,
A sliver of light will disturb,
Maybe I just need to get up and pee,
Or sniff at some lavender herb.

1am, it passes,
The clock has gone past 2,
I’m still awake at 4am,
Writing this poem for you!

5am.jpg

5am is stressful,
Tomorrow there’s so much to do.
If I don’t get some sleep soon,
How will I ever get through?

The only morsel of comfort,
As I see that dawn will come soon,
Is knowing I often drop off around 6,
But then want to sleep in till noon!

zzz.jpg

Thanks for reading

Images from Pixabay and Clipart-Library.

Follow me for more health, nutrition, food, lifestyle and recipe posts. For an archive of 2016 & 2017 posts, by category, see my last post of 2017.

Contact me in SteemitChat to ask about one on one nutritional coaching or EFT (Emotional Freedom Technique) sessions by Skype. (Then put a comment on my most recent post, so I know to find you.) Steem, other altcoins or Paypal accepted.
If you’re from New Zealand (Aotearoa) and are looking for other kiwis, use #teamnz as one of your tags // check out other posts with #kiwi or #teamnz tags // follow @teamnz // or join the South Pacific channel on Discord. There is an old list of kiwis on this post.

5-tips-for-newbies.jpg

Sort:  

I hate sleepless nights... They don't happen to me too often anymore now that I'm not working in sales call centers lol I used to wake up with stomach cramps and acid reflux, dreading going to work. I'd dream of making sales calls for the hour or 2 I'd actually get "real" sleep, and then wake up and have to go make more sales calls!

That sounds awful. Though in some ways, its not as bad when I know why I'm awake. Then there's a chance of doing something about it. It's the nights when there's no reason, you just don't tip over the edge into sleep...

Lol I hear you but i'm the the way round - I'm sure I could do an answer poem to this one lol :)

Just as long as you're not writing it at 4am, which I actually was :-(

did you get any sleep?

Maybe 2 hours?

immensely deep yeah nothing could be worst than sleepless night mam.
May God bless you. you have wonderful sleep with sweet dreamz ❤️❤️

Thank you, your blessing might be just what I need.

That is what vapes are for!

I might have to take you up on that!

I feel your pain!! Almost nightly actually! In fact, at 3 am this morning, I could have co-written this with you :)

I also wanted to thank you for your kindness, support and generosity, from Brian and myself actually. It has not gone unnoticed <3

Luckily last night I had a much better night, and have my fingers crossed for tonight. But I know what it's like to go night after night with not enough sleep :-(

You're most welcome. Up till a day or so ago, I'd only seen your name occasionally on other posts I was following, but I think someone I follow must have resteemed Brian's post, so following you now. I was happy to see that the next day he had a better day.

I'm so glad you had a better night; it really seems to be a toss-up for me...some good, some bad.

Yes, Brian's "next" day was a good one. They seem fewer and farther in between, so when it happens, we drop everything else and just enjoy :)

Thank you again!

Sleepless nights are no good and your poem expresses it quite. Add that to the fact that you're a light sleeper and I can almost feel the pain

I'm quite a deep sleeper so I can't relate much.

I could relate with the last stanza though. On days I don't get much sleep at night, I tend to take it out on the day

Huh! You darn heavy sleepers. I'm jealous ;-)


This is a curation bot for TeamNZ. Please join our AUS/NZ community on Discord.
For any inquiries/issues about the bot please contact @cryptonik.

This perfect bed of sleeping, I appreciate your poetry. best of luck my dear friend.....

Thanks for your good wishes.

Good poem and the truth if most of those things happen while it comes to sleep.

Great poem! Have you heard of CBD oil? look out for post from me about it's benefits - hoping to get it up soon. It worked wonders for me and my sleep - wow I was out like a light. Such deep and blissful sleep. Hope you get some well deserved Zzzzzzds tonight. x

Thanks @startreat. Since menopause I have slept quite badly, but am nowusually sleeping a lot better now than I did for years. That was a bad night! I find that with similar products to CBD oil I have to be very careful about the strain,. Some are very stimulating & some are very restful.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.13
JST 0.031
BTC 61553.99
ETH 2881.27
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.54