The Bear

in #poetry6 years ago

They say don’t go in,
or you’ll never come out.
Of the cursed abyss,
where no echo of hope sounds.

But greed got the best of me,
and I entered the damned dungeon.
To slay and conquer the foul fiend,
to retrieve the loot, I plunged in.

Therein darkness hovered and evil loomed.
My eyes uncertain, feet sloshing in damp mud -
frightened yet determined, onward I resumed,
when my eyes caught a glimmer, could it be real or a dud?

I inched closer to the shining metal,
could it be fools gold, perhaps?
I now stood before the heap whilst I trembled,
“It is real… it is real…” I muttered with a gasp.

There it was, alas, the golden goblet,
filled to the brim with coins to set me free.
No time to revel in its form so splendid,
I grasped the cup and turned to swiftly flee,

There was no sign of the legendary beast,
he must be fast asleep in the winter cold.
Twas my fortune indeed -
I would not die but live to an age of old!

I darted past a rotting corpse,
pitying the weak hands that had fallen.
Nearing the light I waved to my noble horse,
the steed always faithful to my calling.

Ten, nine, eight more dashes remained,
til prosperity and comfort at last!
I’ve awaited this triumph and gain,
in a few steps, I’ll be free to prance!

But from the shadows emerged a black ghoul,
10 feet tall, teeth like daggers, paws equipped.
Upright between me and my newfound life as it drooled,
crimson red were its eyes in the cave so dimly lit.

A million, unhelping thoughts raced through my mind,
Were I to die? Or were I to carry on?
In that moment, I bolted, like a cognizant slaughterhouse swine,
To the doors of freedom, where a new life would surely dawn.

Fear had granted me superhuman speed,
The bear panicked as he saw me escape with his prize.
A few more steps, and I would be free indeed,
I made it! Health and prosperity were both mine.

There I was at the finish line when I felt a strange tingle.
The bear had swiped its murderous paw at my back.
With a loud cry, I surrendered the prize to its owner of evil.
In terrible pain, I gathered strength to scurry to my furry cab.

Though injured I possessed the strength to zoom away.
And as I rode, I glanced back to where the old grizzly ruled.
Its crimson eyes, fixed on me they seemed to say,
“These riches will never be yours, so be gone for good, Mr. Bull.”

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60845.74
ETH 2912.93
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.67