The Purpose for Mountains

in #poetry6 years ago (edited)

IMG_5949.PNG

I was on Instagram yesterday and saw this quote on the page of a friend of mine:

"These mountains that you are carrying, you were only supposed to climb."

It instantly seized me and I had to find out more about the author. I then created this image specifically for you here.

It's a poem written by author and poet, Najwa Zebian. Her words and tone remind me of that other great Lebanese poet, Khalil Gibran.

I can resonate with the thought and share a few personal reflections on it.

First, we sometimes see things as mountains that aren't actually mountains. This is about perspective.

Second, we often hold on to the mountains of pain, insecurity, fear, and worry. The truth is they're heavy and they can wear us out.

Third, as is often said, stumbling blocks can become building blocks. That thing that has caused you pain, can become a blessing to you and to others.

Release those mountains. Acknowledge them, yes, but then release them.

I love the Scripture below because it teaches the reality that we're not alone in our pain and that God can take it on His shoulders.

Matthew 11: 28-30:

"Come to Me, all you who labor and are heavy laden, and I will give you rest. 29 Take My yoke upon you and learn from Me, for I am gentle and lowly in heart, and you will find rest for your souls. 30 For My yoke is easy and My burden is light.”

What a blessing.

By the way, if you want to see the TED talk where she references this poem, I linked it below. The actual poem is at the 11:30 minute mark.

So what does this poem mean to you? You can share in the comments below.

Also, did you find this post interesting or helpful? If so, please Upvote, Resteem, and follow me @leaderinsights to receive every future post.

[image by Tanvi Malik]

Sort:  

You got a 1.42% upvote from @postpromoter courtesy of @leaderinsights! Want to promote your posts too? Check out the Steem Bot Tracker website for more info. If you would like to support development of @postpromoter and the bot tracker please vote for @yabapmatt for witness!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 67831.12
ETH 3801.93
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.75