My first crack at free verse.

in #poetry7 years ago (edited)

Image
Image source

Hello good people of the steem community! First i would like to say thank you to all the great people whom have shown me love and support in my feeble attempts at poetry! I have written various things for a long time but i have never shared any of my writing with anyone. It really is an incredible feeling to put my stuff out there and hear that there are other people whom appreciate it! Seriously, its pretty surreal and i feel so happy and nervous each time i create something new for you guys. Anywho, this is my first attempt at free verse, i have never really done it because i really enjoy the flow of more classical rhyming patterns. However i am happy to say i think this is one of my better pieces, I hope you all enjoy. Let me know what you think!

Discovery

As i lie awake,
I can not budge my arms or legs,
Feel paralyzed,
Against what lurks in the heart of dark,
Awakened me,
But im still dreaming,
My mind is alive,
But downs in a pool of self,
Dream of flame,
The voices knaw away,
Don't fall down,
Before the world,
Of fear and madness,
They try to conquer me,
Drive me to the ground again,
The call of instinct,
The might of the powerful,
I hunger for it,
Hunger keeps me alive,
Go for a quest,
To find myself the answer,
Enter now,
This place in the mountains,
I start to dig inside me,
But im startled to find,
In the space inside me,
A great beast is alive and,
I start to understand myself,
My own world inside,
I see the life,
This feeling growing ever bigger,
Now i know the way to peace is understand the speaking,
I know the words,
For now i feel it inside,
Deep voices rising,
From the heart of this mountain,
Vibrations of the soul,
I can feel in my eyes.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 65035.33
ETH 2950.72
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.66