The Furnace Within

in #poetry7 years ago (edited)

img
Image source

Hello Steemians. Thanks to the throngs whom voted for my last post! Coolest moment of the past few months! I Couldn't believe my eyes when I logged on and viewed all the support I received, I couldn't appreciate the positivity more! Seriously I'm speechless, thank you so much everyone!!!! <3

The Furnace Within

The secrets lay within the fire
I must keep stoked the sacred pyre
For if i want to learn, from whispers
The bodies must be made much crisper

It takes a human sacrifice
Three a day to be precise
To keep the flames speaking clear
I must provide a souvenir

One that kicks and screams and fights
A wicked flare lights in the night
Another soul to my abhorrent cause
I can hear them now their dark applause

Their words twist and weave through the sizzle
Into my heart they carve and chisel
Telling me no time for rest
"Limitless Power" they have professed

"Just one more" they say they need
This body is dry, no blood to bleed
"Just one more" they coldly claim
As throw myself into the flame

Sort:  

A powerful and chilling read. I confess, it was fun!! Great work :)

Thanks you very much madam, I really appreciate the feedback. This steem experience has been the coolest thing I have ever participated in, the amount of exposure and positivity I receive is much more then I ever dreamed!

I really liked how this piece told a story in the ending. The rhyme scheme added to the spooky factor too. Good write.

Congratulations @lemongrab! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

This post received a 2.11% upvote from @randowhale thanks to @bleedpoet! To learn more, check out @randowhale 101 - Everything You Need to Know!

Congratulations @lemongrab! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the total payout received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 66306.00
ETH 3012.37
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.70