- Sunshine for All Time - companion poem to previous post ' - Clouds for a Lifetime - ' (Please read!)

in #poetry6 years ago

12.jpg

Long
My weekends are long like pie dough that seems to grow and grow
you roll it out and cut it up and have to roll it out again and repeat
it's silly but i get lonely easily, it's just me
so when he's away at work all day it's pretty safe to say
i'm about ready to go stir cray
i guess i'll take Ben for a walk again
our driveway's a good place; it's about as long as this day
let's go, Ben, like whadya say?
i'll take my phone so i have music on the way.
the sunset is sweet
this isn't so bad
"hey bae" i text
it's this texting jargon fad
"are you almost here yet? cause im horny af."
i know i suck
at keeping things to myself
but it's just as well he has something to look forward to
i hit the 'next' button on my iPhone
the song that comes on is none other than
"Wrong" by that one artist i hate, but love this one song
I'm pretty much rocking out and knocking out mosquitoes
and staring at my phone because idleness is evil
and i have sixteen new likes, and my step-mother is like
"Come visit me" on Messenger... it's just her way of saying
'i love you' without having to say 'i love you'
because she really doesn't care who is or isn't there
she likes her space, like just in case the mailman is extra fair
i turn up the volume on my headphones, it's a habit
when i start to get into it, i really have to have it
but damnit
i didn't see the car belonging to the man who drove so fast

drove

so

far

to meet me
but not like this.
but it can't haunt me
cause I'll be doing the haunting
it's haunting though to think of wanting
to go
back in time to open my eyes or leave my phone at home
avoid the mess we've made
that's left one of us alone...
but you know
the hardest part is never behind because he's down there
and now i'm up here - a prison for my crime
it's not heaven without what's mine.
his clouds taint my cheer and so i'll pay my fine
no clouds to hide my sorrow,
sunshine for all time.

Thanks for reading! This and its companion poem in this post: http://bit.ly/2jOrQD9 are not true stories. I simply felt inspired to write something about phone addiction and multi-tasking at the wrong times... It can be deadly. And that makes me a potential murderer which is scary but true because I have been known to use my phone while driving or crossing a road on foot, making me a hypocrite to boot. It's a habit I should break like yesterday.

Sort:  

Hello & Cheers!! I'm a content detection and information bot. You are receiving this reply because a short link or links have been detected in your post/comment. The purpose of this message is to inform your readers and yourself about the use of and dangers of short links.

To the readers of the post: Short links are provided by url shortening services. The short links they provide can be useful in some cases. Generally their use is benign. But as with all useful tools there are dangers. Short links can be used to hide all sorts of things. Quite frequently they are used to hide referral links for instance. While not dangerous this can be deceptive. They can also be used to hide dangerous links such as links to phishing sites, sites loaded with malware, scam sites, etc. You should always be extremely cautious before clicking on one. If you don't know and trust the poster don't click. Even if you do you should still be cautious and wary of any site you are sent to. It's always better to visit the site directly and not through a short link.

To the author of the post: While short links may be useful on some sites they are not needed on steemit. You can use markdown to format your links such as this link to steemit. It's as simple as [steemit](https://steemit.com) Unlike short links this allows the reader to see where they are going by simply hovering over the link before they click on it.

This message was created by a bot. It is part of the ongoing fight against spam and phishing attacks on steemit. If you did not use short links in your post and feel you have received this message in error you can contact @fubar-bdhr on discord or @fubar.bdhr on steemit chat to report the issue.

Congratulations @lioness1! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.031
BTC 61905.09
ETH 2902.93
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.55