WHEN I MET LOVE

in #poetry6 years ago (edited)

Okay, I've been quite on my own for a while, don't raise your curious eyebrows please, but trust me this will make your morning.

This poem is titled WHEN I MET LOVE...

When I met love
He wasn't exactly the picture I expected
He was a brown eyed boy with tender lips carved perfectly for his face studded with dark spots
But in those spots, I saw shiny stars beautiful enough to steal my sight and indeed I felt blindfolded

When I met love
He stared at my head, too timid to look into my eyes
And I, too engrossed to notice how his shivering hands struggled time after time to click with mine
And each time our hands crossed each other's path, we giggled and threw our faces away like clouds drifting in the breeze

FB_IMG_1534657792085.jpg
facebook.com

When I met love
I lost the keys to the house of defenses I built around myself
Our hearts wandered from our skin, popped out of our flesh, vacated our ribs and cuddled each other enough to feel the warmth within us when our names were being whispered miles and distances afar

When I met love, it wasn't actually the love I expected
It was two broken souls melting into each other to fill the hollow they had inside
It was two weak voices whistling through the trees, collaborating to create a symphony
It was two stories blending to form a myth reverberating in the silence they shared
It was two torn fleshes with their healing moulded into the follicles of their skin
And when I met love, I realized love is a choice dressed in human form

Sort:  

Congratulations @lizzieharrison! You received a personal award!

1 Year on Steemit

Click here to view your Board

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @lizzieharrison! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 63041.44
ETH 2985.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.61