WEAKNESS

in #poetry6 years ago (edited)

images(5).jpg
source

Do I have weakness?
I am nothing but weakness.
I am not naturally strong, or fast, or flexible.
I am certainly not the smartest person in the world.
I get emotional over stupid things.
I eat the wrong foods.
I don’t sleep enough.
I procrastinate and I waste time.
I care too much about meaningless things and not enough
about important things.
My ego is too big.
My mind is too small, often trapped inside itself.
Now all that being said, I have a saying: A person’s
strength is often their biggest weakness.
But, their weaknesses can become strengths.
Me? I am weak, in all those ways, I am weak.
BUT
I don’t accept that.
I don’t accept that I am what I am and that “that” is what I
am doomed to be.
NO. I do not accept that.
I’m fighting.
I’m always fighting. I’m struggling and I’m scraping and
kicking and clawing at those weaknesses—to change them. To
stop them.
Some days I win. But some days I don’t.
But each and every day: I get back up and I move forward.
With my fists clenched.
Toward the battle. Toward the struggle.
And I fight with everything I’ve got:
To overcome those weaknesses and those shortfalls and those
flaws as I strive to be just a
little bit better today
than I was yesterday …

image

Sort:  

Congratulations @lorenzo1420! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 65920.41
ETH 3016.79
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.71