I Soar (Day 80 of 100 -- Poetry challenge)

in #poetry6 years ago

shards2.jpg

I buried my burdens in the earth.
I am the earth.

I let myself sink in the water.
I am the water.

I walked into the fire.
I am the fire.

I stand at the precipice.
I step forward,
and become air
as I fall.

I soar.

Screen Shot 2018-04-09 at 3.59.13 PM.png

  • Because I'm gong to be super busy over the holiday I am posting a few days in advance.
  • All pieces are newly crafted and posted shortly after in adherence to the rules of the challenge. All the photos are mine unless otherwise stated.

  • Entry for Day 80 of 100 Days of Poetry Challenge by @d-pend.

  • Join the Steemit School here: https://discord.gg/yZvYjfM organized by @dobartim on Discord.

Sort:  

This poem has the elegance of vagueness of a koan, the terseness and elegance of a haiku and a very powerful message that can be the matter of a thousand interpretations.

It brings me to my mind the Bruce Lee philosophy that preached "be water".

It also makes me think about what Zen "evangelist" Allan Watts used to say about "you are you, the fist hitting your face and the pain; things don't happen to you, you are you and all that happens to you" (I'm paraphrasing here).

I buried my burdens in the earth.
I am the earth.

The person is not getting rid of his/her burdens, he is assuming them as part of him/herself.

An and after not getting rid of burden he/she nonetheless soars.

I find this poem both beautiful and inspiring without being cute or falsely optimistic.

Life is hard and you can soar.

Thank you dear @sansoncarraso.

Let us all soar, at least from time-to-time. :)

One day at a time ;)

Wonderful! You are such a great writer and it shows in everything you post. May you be blessed in all that you do!

:: Blush :: You are so kind. Thank you. :)

Just saw this reply @mamadini because I just got back from seeing my son graduate and last weekend was a very emotional one for me. I try to be kind to everyone, but sometimes I just wish I was not, especially with certain family members of mine.

Congratulations on the graduation (Your son’s). <3

Oh, I know how that goes. I have not talked with my family since my Mamo passed over two decades ago and it’s been so much better being alone (I choose my fam) than having all that nastiness in my life. No matter what, you and Erin have created such an amazing life and the energy, love, and fierce shines like a beacon. <3

P.S. I have started to speak up, after a life of not doing it to this degree and so far people seem really put-off by it, but I'm going to say what I need to say, no more Ms nice guy, here, if I am not feeling it.

For I am the I in lgbtqI and I ain't afraid no more. ;)

Thank you @mamadini! So glad to hear that you are not afraid anymore! Know that you have family in other ways, not just through blood which reminds me of a quote from Xena: Warrior Princess.... Xena: We both have families we are born into, but sometimes families change, and we have to build our own. For me, our friendship binds us closer than blood ever could. (from “Ties that Bind”)

Please keep up the good work and have a wonderful and blessed day my friend!

I was never actually afraid -- it's just not something I think about, at all. lol. I was being a bit flippant. I know it's a big deal to some out there in the world, but you know what I'm saying (I hope). I've not kept it a secret, I just don't find it relevant to almost anything in my life, aside from people that think I'm the devil... and if they think that, they can have at it. One thing I have always noticed in life is that all the people that do not like me, are without exception, people that I would never want to be like… so it kind of cancels out in a way.

I was also born with webbed feet, which I find much more interesting. :P

I love me some Xena.

Thank you for such warmth and kindness, both you and Erin. <3

@mamadini It never crossed my mind that you were afraid....and I know what you are saying. People think I and Erin are the devil because of our lifestyle and I dont give a flying f****. They will have karma bite them eventually for the way they treat others. For me, as long as you dont try to push your lifestyle and beliefs on me, I dont care one bit how you live, just leave me and what I do with my life alone. I know how I am and I was born the way I am...the Goddess didn't mess up when she created those who are born different. She created us all equally no matter who we love, look like, or any other "stereotype" you want to be labeled with. I would love to chat with you beyond steemit but alas this may be the only way.

XENA is the best and I posted a poem I did about 8 yrs ago on my page if you want to check it out.

YASSS, I totally agree. :)

I mispelled Xena at first and it made me chuckle when I went back and looked. lol

You know, I wrote a poem on the same lines. I'd upload it soon. Hope you read it.
About your poem, I love it. :)

Oh, I shall be over to your blog a bit later, perhaps tomorrow as I'm trying to get caught up.

Thank you for the lovin', I truly appreciate it. :)

A very taoist write. Love it:0

The Tao inpsires me. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 62726.22
ETH 2961.65
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.60