They may no longer be on this earth, but they are forever with you.

in #poetry6 years ago

image
I'm thinking about my late grandparents today. I don't know why, but they're floating through my mind - the wrinkled fingers, tired eyes. And maybe it's because today's a holiday and I miss being surrounded by my family. Maybe it's because they're speaking to me through some unconscious force. Maybe it's because I've been working my butt off and being around so many kids and families that aren't my own, and it's leaving a hole in my heart for what could have been.

I don't know if you're feeling that bittersweet taste in your mouth today - the joy of the holiday, and yet, the dull ache of the loved one you've lost. I don't know if you're struggling with the passing of someone you care about, or reeling from news you don't know how to swallow.

But I just want you to know you're not alone.

You're in this place of wondering what to do, wondering what's next, wondering if that person's in Heaven and if they see you, if they care.

I want you to know that they do. They are looking down on you with pride. They are celebrating your accomplishments, your smiles, even your baby steps.

They may no longer be on this earth, but they are forever with you.
So I'm praying for your healing tonight. Wherever you are, whatever comfort you need, I pray God brings that to you right now. And until then, read my words and know you're not alone.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 62668.08
ETH 2908.37
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.58