You'll find your place in time

in #poetry6 years ago

image
I took a (necessary) break from social media (for the most part) yesterday, and honestly it felt good. Something that's been plaguing me lately is comparison. I've been measuring myself up to other people, worrying about where I'm at or what I should be doing, feeling less than enough, and stressing about where I 'fit' especially in the sense of writing and my 'brand.'⠀

I'm a Christian, but I'm not solely a 'Christian writer.' I also write about love and heartbreak, feminism, self-love and identity, passion, forgiveness, dating, sports, health, music, zodiac - so many different topics and pieces of me. And I love that I don't have just one 'brand,' but at the same time, sometimes I feel lost.⠀

Do you feel this way? Like maybe you're just a mess of color and light and thoughts and feelings and you don't really have one set 'identity'? Or maybe you're doing that (dumb) thing where you look at everyone else and wonder how they have it all figured out while you're still searching?⠀

Something that's defined my writing since I started is the idea of 'light' - being a light, following (God's) light, creating light within myself, lighting other people's worlds, looking to the positive. This morning I stumbled across my old favorite journal with this Whitman quote and it really resonated with my heart. Maybe it's not about knowing or defining, but stepping forward, trusting, and letting go. Maybe there's no reason to stress over who I am or where I 'fit' because I'm creating my place with every step, every word.⠀

I've decided that my real 'brand' centers around this message "BE A LIGHT" - because at the end of the day, no matter what content I'm writing, that's what I strive to do. Bring forward love and joy and light and healing through words.⠀

I'm not sure what you're going through today, but I want to remind you that it's okay if you're not at the 'level' you thought you'd be, if someone's doing 'better,' or if you're stressed you don't have a place or identity that's solely 'yours.' Just keep moving forward, loving, creating, and cultivating light. You'll find your place in time.

Sort:  

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by marcosal from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 65786.95
ETH 3001.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.72