From my nest

in #poetry6 years ago

Thin and flat are the clouds now.
A dusty lovely sky at sunset.
Cold air
Warm breath
Bare tree branches
My babe sleeps open mouthed and snoring gently while wrapped against my body.
Twinkle twinkle random streetlight.
Smolder no more silent building...
the foot traffic is less now you've burned all up.
Scrappers came by today for bricks and metal.
Low lights on as evening sets in.
Security gate is locked in front of our nicely painted red orange door.
I'm on an island, our second floor, behind a six foot fence.
We have one immediate neighbor left.
Her name is Sheila and she lives behind us and drinks Budweiser.
We are surrounded by the wreckage of capitalism and drug wars and institutionalized racism.
The sound of stringed orchestral instruments pours from my stereo.
I am calmer than still waters.
I am in an underwhelming awe of everything...
gazing steady out the windows...
and feeling the world slowly turning...
and burning.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60385.11
ETH 2889.75
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.65