You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: ADSactly Poetry: Arthur Rimbaud, The Seer Poet of Modernity (Part II)

in #poetry5 years ago

Hello @josemalavem
I managed to listen, some of his poems and part of his biography.
this with the idea of ​​having a clearer picture about Arthur Rimbaud.
I found some of the most successful translations in Spanish.
In Frances, some rhymes, but not when translated into other languages.

I really liked his poems "Vowels", "The Drunk Ship" and "The Stolen Heart".

I think that each poem evokes episodes of his life that were quite intense.
The use of biblical words in his poems catches my attention.
His poetry does not make me heavy or dark, I think it only shows what he experienced and the feelings that this caused him.

I believe that if someone had suffered the abuses they suffered, they would understand and identify very well with their writings, a little religious knowledge and how the figures of God, Satan, Hell, etc. are also required.

We see a teenage genius, who lived under a maternal oppression being someone very sensitive, emotionally and spiritually. However, I believe that his poems are the fruit of that desire to rebel against this high spiritual nature, which makes him write something beautiful like "El broken heart", after having suffered a terrible act of rape.

Sort:  

Hello, @mariita52. You deal with several aspects that, obviously, I won't be able to answer properly in this answer. I will address the main ones.
I don't know if you read in Spanish (there are very good translations of Rimbaud's work in our language, like those of Raúl Gustavo Aguirre, made by Monte Ávila, a Venezuelan publisher).
The best representation of the contributions of Rimbaud's poetic work is in A Season in Hell+ and in Illuminations, although already in "The Drunk Ship" there is an interesting note, but still under the aegis of the final rhyme, which will disappear completely later.
Although we know that poetry, like any artistic work, is linked to the concrete life of each author, a relationship of equality between poetic speaker and real person cannot be established. That's what Rimbaud was against.
Thank you for your comment.

Thanks for your kind reply.
I will consider your suggestion.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63839.42
ETH 3215.37
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.83