The Unspoken Language of Love

in #poetry5 years ago (edited)

My name is Mark Kennard and I live in Oamaru, New Zealand.

MARKKENNARD(5) (copy)122wide.jpg

While Ive written poetry for the last 25 years, my portfolio of poetry is slim. Personally I find that poetry should be inspired and not forced if the goal is to inspire others.

I generally get my inspiration from observing others but not from observing just anyone.
Always on the lookout, I lie in wait for that special someone. That person with a certain sparkle in their eyes, with a certain kind of energy.

For poetry I need a muse.

I enjoy writing poetry as i enjoy arranging words in such a fashion as to elicit an emotional response in the reader. I often look for experiences that describe common feelings and observations that we all experience so that when read, the reader feels I have an insight into their mind.

Without further ado, here is my poem

The Unspoken Language of Love

Theres a lightning bolt between us
though we may be near or far
It connects our thoughts and minds
and is tethered to our hearts
It carries our emotions
our unspoken hopes and dreams
and when you walk away from me
my heart, it skips a beat
All day and night when we're apart
you're always on my mind
I want to reel the tether in
I want you to be mine
A gentle kiss, a sweet embrace
A life of joy and fun
As I gaze into your eyes so blue
I see life has just begun

I would love to get your feedback and comments on my poem, whether they be good or bad and would particularly like to hear from you if this poem resonated with you.

Sort:  

As a follower of @followforupvotes this post has been randomly selected and upvoted! Enjoy your upvote and have a great day!

Congratulations @markkennard! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 69852.07
ETH 3757.14
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.75