A haiku for the moon, by Matsuo Bashô

in #poetry6 years ago

Tonight, July 27, we witness the greater lunar eclipse of this century.

Astrologists say that this is an eventful time to get in touch with the universe, asking for guidance and
prosperity.
Personally, I believe we should always conduct ourselves in some kind of grace towards one another, and not merely on astral/cosmic events.
Although I did glance at the moon - the red, blood moon - and gasped at the sight.
So powerful!!
image.png

But anyways, whatever faith we have, what better occasion to bring forth a poem than this?
I could not help myself :)
So, there you go: I present you fellows a haiku, a short and lightning-bolt-intense japanese form of poetry.
The poet is the haiku master Basho, a zen-buddhist monk that to this day is revered for his highly unique poetry.

Matsuo Basho (1644 - 1694)

Autumn moonlight -
a worm digs silently
into the chestnut.

Sort:  

Eclipses are cool, and until I read your post, I wasnt aware of the current eclipse. The haiku at the end just caps off a good post here.

Its a striking haiku, isnt it? I'm glad you liked it, @official.dwr!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 62656.62
ETH 2941.90
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.59