I Heard A Buzz... poem by Emily Dickinson (1830-1886)

in #poetry6 years ago

WhatsApp Image 2018-08-03 at 14.26.49.jpeg

How to evoke sound with picture? This one does it for me. Maybe its a sort of synestesia, I dont know. But it elicited a wanting for poetry in me, looking at this photo, and I searched for the right one till I found this delicate and deeply somber Emily Dickinson poem.

Emily Dickinson (1830 - 1886)

I heard a Fly buzz – when I died –
The Stillness in the Room
Was like the Stillness in the Air –
Between the Heaves of Storm –

The Eyes around – had wrung them dry –
And Breaths were gathering firm
For that last Onset – when the King
Be witnessed – in the Room –

I willed my Keepsakes – Signed away
What portions of me be
Assignable – and then it was
There interposed a Fly –

With Blue – uncertain stumbling Buzz –
Between the light – and me –
And then the Windows failed – and then
I could not see to see –

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 62875.98
ETH 2948.16
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.55