What is love?

in #poetry5 years ago

One night I decided to think about what love meant to me. But I had to think about what love was....and this is what I came up with:

Love hurts and heals. Love gives and takes. Love makes people feel alive, but it can also kill.

Love is the ultimate yin and yang of our lifetime. It can be your best friend or your worst enemy.

Love is something that we want to shout to the world. Love is also something we want to keep to ourselves.

Love can bring out the best of us, but also the worst.

Love does not take sides, no matter how strong we may feel it towards someone.

Love conquers all, including but not limited to our judgment.

Love is something we all long for, even if some don't admit it.

Love is the root of all happiness, but also the root of all evil.

Love is kind, but also tough.

All in all, love is everywhere, but it is up to us to decide how it is used. It comes in all shapes and sizes. There are many forms of love.

As for what it all means to me...love to me can't be singled into one thing. I have a certain love for my family. I have a certain love for my friends. I have a certain love for material things. Most importantly, I have a certain love for myself.

Love for me has been all those things mentioned above. It has shaped me into the person I am today. All the triumphs and tragedies I have faced in the name of love are memories I will always hold close to my heart.

Finally...love to me is like the air we breath. I feel we all need love to make it in these trying times. Some people who have so much love to give are still searching for it to be returned. I make it my mission in life to extend my heart and soul to those who are loveless.

All in all, I suppose love is what we make it. What does it mean to you?

Sort:  

Thank you for using Resteem & Voting Bot @allaz Your post will be min. 10+ resteemed with over 13000+ followers & min. 25+ Upvote Different account (5000+ Steem Power).

Congratulations @mastacodyd! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 1 year!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Are you a DrugWars early adopter? Benvenuto in famiglia!
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Congratulations @mastacodyd! You received a personal award!

Happy Steem Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Downvote challenge - Add up to 3 funny badges to your board
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 57810.33
ETH 2939.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.70