My Poems Journal - A Compilation of Poems

in #poetry6 years ago (edited)

binder.jpg
(Photo captured by me)

I was exploring a local supplies and bookstore one day when I came across a small, hand-sized binder notebook. Its colors and design reminded me of old, antiquated magic binders and and spell-books that fantasy-fiction and game characters used to write spells on, or long-forgotten lost journals that contain secret messages when deciphered properly.

The scribe side of me thought at once what can I write on this binder. Some random calligraphy, quotes, inspirational phrases or some doodle art, perhaps? That's when I thought to populate it with poems written from ages ago and this present time.

cover.jpg
The journal's cover page. Photo taken by me.

Writing poems had been an integral part of my life while growing up. At first I wrote poems nonchalantly as a means to fund my hobbies, but as time passed by I found it fun and interesting to play with words to form and romanticize thought-provoking ideas and concepts while expressing them in the canvas of the mind.

I thought this binder (and soft-copy documents, safely tucked in the cloud!) will make a good storage location for my stack pile of hastily-handwritten poems that almost came twice to getting lost and thrown away, after being mistaken as scratch papers.

As I started copying the old poems to the journal, I was fascinated how the younger, innocent and naive "me" wrote brightly and optimistically about themes and concepts which I find the "present" me needed to be reminded of. It seems like I'm reading messages from the heart of my younger self, and that I wrote the poems as letters for my present self.

I wrote the following notes for a start,

prologue.jpg

The journal's introduction page. Photo taken by me.


Prologue


Letters form words
Words form phrases
Phrases,.. sentences.

Floating words,
Fleeting phrases.
Intangible sentences
Form cryptic messages.

Coalesce, merge, transform
Play with words from the air
Paint on canvas to form
Divergent ideas with a flair

- by @mechanicore 2018/09/02



I'm excited to start writing new poems after a long hiatus. I was wondering what my "younger" self will think of, if he'll get a chance to read them because they now tend to be darker and more profound than the world he knew of, I'm having a hard time putting them in words. Moreover, I'm excited to start writing new poems as messages that my "future" self will reminisce and think fondly of in maybe about 5, 10, 30, N years from now.

Let me end this post with one of the poems written in my journal. Enjoy!


Reflections

Reflections... are they real?
Can they see, act and feel
As much as others do
Without no less a clue?
Yet they were there
In mirrors all so bare
Looking at their beholder
Mimicking his every move, every stare
Reminding him that the reflection
Is also him in every fraction
- by @mechanicore 2000/11/22



(Tagalog version)


Repleksyon

Repleksyon... sila ba'y totoo?
Sila kaya'y nakakakita, nakadarama't umaakto
Tulad nating mga tao
Nang walang gabay kung paano?
Ngunit nariyan lamang sila
Sa mga salaming walang kurtina
Nakatitig sa tumitingin sa kanila
Gumagaya sa bawat kilos, bawat emosyon
Nagpapaalala na sila, ang repleksyon
Ay tao rin sa bawat relasyon
- akda ni @mechanicore 2001/01/18



"Reflections" journal page. Photo taken by me.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.033
BTC 62772.18
ETH 3032.07
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.67