I hate it when my phone goes off. - A lil poem/rap

in #poetry6 years ago (edited)

I hate it when my phone goes off, it makes me look to see who's there.

I hate it when my phone goes off, it makes me watch and stare.

I try hard to forget things, I try hard not to care.

But then I hear my phone go off and  look to see who's there.

Sometimes I sit and think about what happened to old friends.

And then I hear my phone go off, I wonder if it's them.

Sometimes I sit and think about old memories again.

And then I hear my phone go off..they slip me, where and when.

I hate it when my phone goes off, I hold it up and stare.

I hate it when my phone goes off - Reminds me you're not there.

-Mega

Sort:  

I keep mine on silent most of the time, but it doesn't help much. I'm still constantly checking.

Nice twist at the end there :)

I do the same..somehow it seems to turn it's own volume up...despite the fact that the button on the side doesn't work, I'm looking at the damn thing all day :/ lol

In a language-nerd-fuelled aside, have you ever pondered the weirdness of the phrase "goes off" to mean when a phone or alarm activates? English is a wonderful thing. :D

You too, eh? You know Bill Murray? Groundhog day? Thats how I feel about "goes off", am also a language nerd..I speak a super muddy but fluent "spanglish", have since 6-7. My elementary school classes in California were taught half english, half spanish. Outside of spanish, I love dutch for it's simplicity, but you would build rock solid 6 pack abs laughing, listening to me try to speak it the way I do spanish lol.

I love Bill Murray's acting although I hear he's kind of a dick in real life. Do you mean the way that he keeps going back to the same moment with the radio waking him over and over again as an analogy for the way we constantly check our phones nowadays?

Yeah I think you have to know a couple of other languages to be a real language nerd. I also speak Swedish and am learning German and I'm constantly appreciating how the three languages are interlinked. How'd you get into Dutch? I mean, it's a great language (love the accent!) but seems kind of random for a person living in the midwest.

You nailed the analogy :p haha, and as for dutch..i have a very abstract friend that's literally tried to learn every language known to man. He was really into "Afrikaans" for a long while and it used to amuse me quite a bit, i started kibitzing along with him and bought a pocket sized book full of the basics. Being derived from dutch, i looked there next because i was shocked at how quickly afrikaans could be picked up by an english speaker.

How long did it take you to learn swedish?

Around 2 years to get fluent, but I was living in Sweden at the time and that makes a ton of difference. I found it pretty easy to learn as it's close to both English and German but with much easier grammar. Now I live in Austria but I work online translating Swedish to English, so I still have contact with the language. Yeah I've heard that Afrikaans is easy to learn. I was in SA last year and they have a few cute things in everyday language - like calling traffic lights "robots" :D
Good for you learning languages off your own bat! Highly approved. My brother speaks a bit of Dutch and learned it the same way - just through practising with a friend. I've never been good at that. I have to have a pressing need or purpose before I can get my brain to focus on anything.

I imagine living where it's spoken daily helps immensely! Same goes for me and Spanish, I felt much more confident in what i was saying when i was back home and heard it every/every other day :p. And languages have always fascinated me, down to latin (which i could never find any solid learning resources for, believe it or not :(" not ones that i could properly follow atleast!

I hate it too...can't resist looking!

Right? It's too hard to ignore, could be anyone!

Your Post Has Been Featured on @Resteemable!
Feature any Steemit post using resteemit.com!
How It Works:
1. Take Any Steemit URL
2. Erase https://
3. Type re
Get Featured Instantly � Featured Posts are voted every 2.4hrs
Join the Curation Team Here | Vote Resteemable for Witness

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 65035.33
ETH 2950.72
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.66