In My Dream (Ghazal Poem)

in #poetry6 years ago

In My Dream

Father said, “It would be a shame to not pursue your dreams,”
with a strong and clear voice in my dream.

I knew it was going to be a horrible day by the way it started –
I fell off a cliff and plummeted to my death in my dream.

John sold all his belongings and moved to Zimbabwe.
He said, “the Lord spoke to me in my dream.”

A soft hand pressed gently against my forehead.
The lack of texture told me everything would be fine in my dream.

I turned on the news and saw that the world was ending.
Armageddon came with a pair of red eyes.

There was nothing but an elongated period of darkness.
Someone may have mumbled deje alli ser la luz in my dream.

John was shot while trying to teach the Gospel.
He said, “the Lord spoke to me in my dream.”

At my funeral Father said, “My son followed his dreams.”
The words humbled me in my dream.

dreams.jpg

*Ghazals have always been one of my favorite forms of poetry. The structure is fun to play with, and allows for some very cool interpretations. If you enjoy poetry, you should definitely try to write a ghazal! If you're not familiar with the form, then check out: https://www.poets.org/poetsorg/text/ghazal-poetic-form

Sort:  

Awesome poem! You have some real talent. I felt like I was reading a true story. Thanks for sharing. I have never heard of a Ghazal.

Thank you! I don't believe it's a very common type, at least in western culture. It's something I learned about in my poetry classes in college.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.24
TRX 0.12
JST 0.030
BTC 69412.19
ETH 3670.99
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.25