But I want you to look at me⠀ and see we are the same

in #poetry6 years ago

image
I want to know what you see⠀
when you look at me.⠀
Is it brown eyes, searching⠀
your face? Is it a smile, pulling⠀
you closer? Is it arms and legs,⠀
muscles and curves?⠀
Do you feel threatened⠀
by the way I walk⠀
with my head straight, gazed fixed⠀
and unwavering?⠀
When you look at me,⠀
do you see mascara on my eyelashes?⠀
Blush on my cheeks? Running shoes on my feet?⠀
When you look at me,⠀
do you see fingers with silver rings,⠀
manicured and delicate?⠀
Do you see callouses from work,⠀
a smudge of dirt on my knee, scuffed⠀
soles from the places I’ve wandered?⠀

Because when you look at me,⠀
I want you to see fierceness and grace.⠀
I want you to see hands, worn⠀
from both labor and love.⠀
I want you to see legs, strong⠀
from the paths I’ve walked⠀
and the burdens I’ve carried.⠀
I want you to see a heart⠀
big and beating⠀
and shining boldly through my smile.⠀
When you look at me,⠀
I don’t want you to just see⠀
girl, woman, female, pretty.⠀
I don’t want you to just see⠀
curves, muscles, short, strong.⠀
I don’t want you to just see⠀
chest, back, lashes, legs.⠀
I want you to see where I’ve come from⠀
and who I’ve become,⠀
the laughter from my lips⠀
and the faraway look in my eyes⠀
when I start to remember what I’ve lost.⠀
I want you to feel the warmth of my skin,⠀
touch my body with your fingertips.⠀
I want you to know I’m not just a woman,⠀
a human, a body. But a force,⠀
an energy, a soul.⠀
I want you to know⠀
we are so different,⠀
so complex,⠀
so disconnected.

Sort:  

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by minasal from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 66256.11
ETH 3036.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.73