The Greatest Woman In My Life

in #poetry7 years ago (edited)

"Remember Monica, your dreams are yours." - Great Grandma.


Your memory is etched deep in my heart,
Your pipe, your cane
Your long dresses that made you appear to float across the wooden floor.
Your silver hair, piled carelessly on top of your head in a bun.
Your smile that made your whole essence shine, causing your eyes to sparkle like a million stars.
Your laughter when I would take your cane to use as a prop when I would entertain you with song and dance.
Your willingness to listen to even the silliest of stories
Your patience as I would blow out match after match, while you tried to light your pipe.
Your complicity in helping break and burn the switches Grandma would make me get for myself if I was naughty, so she couldn't spank me with it.
I am everything that I am today because of those words that you gave to me as a four year-old.
I am everything because of you.

Sort:  

Thank you. Yes, she was. I am truly blessed that I was able to have 7 years with her. The lessons learned have carried me through the hardest times in life. Thank you for reading and for your thoughtful comment ;)
x x
Mo
( low on power or i would be upvoting today :D, apologies)

Great poem, and what a wonderful quote from your great grandma, I'll need to remember it. Thanks for sharing with us.

Thanks, Cat ;) Yeah, my Great Grandma was the poo, that's for sure. Thanks for reading and for your support!
Mo

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 70910.93
ETH 3657.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.76